1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Diskpart Batch // Script Question

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by Unktone, Jan 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Unktone

Unktone Thread Starter

I am completely new to script writing. I used to make simple batch files, and that is my only experience with them.

What I really want to do is create a batch file that will set my external driver (disk 2) as an active partition when I run it...also, I want to make one to make it inactive. I have been trying this.

In my .bat file i've got

diskpart /s c:\diskpart.txt

"diskpart.txt" being where I have these commands:

select disk 2
    select partition 1
    active
    exit

when I run it it just looks like it's repeating the "diskpart /s c:\diskpart.txt" over and over, and does nothing.

Since I am so ignorant with the way this has to work, if you could show me exactly what I have to write for it to work, that would be amazing. Any help would be wonderful.

thanks!

Rob

2. Unktone

Unktone Thread Starter

Ok, I specified the directory of my script file in the bat file and ran it as an administrator, and it works!! I also made one to make the drive inactive. However, I can't seem to get the permissions to run the bat as admin all the time without having to right click on it. Also, I was thinking about putting the bats and scripts on the drive itself, but realized that my computers have different amounts of drives, so the commands to select drive 2 wouldn't work all the time.

Any sujestions on how to make this more versatile and less clickies?? :)

3. helpful

helpful

you can not save the batch file as the same name as diskpart, otherwise you actually calling the script from within the script in an endless loop.