1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: DNS connection problem

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Damcios2509, Sep 9, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Damcios2509

    Damcios2509 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Since this morning I'm having this problem : Cannot communicate with primary DNS server (195.130.130.132)
    Never occured before. I tried flushing and reseting the setting with no results. Using an alternative DNS server dind't work either. I'm on wired internet. My parents are using the same router and they dont have any problems at all. They have the same default gateway, same DNS server, Same subnet mask and DHCP server. Also both pc's don't have a WINS server.

    Here's the Ipconfig/all


    C:\Users\Damian>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Damian-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : telenet.be

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-60-00-C4-68-16
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 84.198.70.73(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 9 września 2012 14:20:24
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 9 września 2012 16:11:45
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 84.198.64.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.137.3
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.130.132
    195.130.131.132
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.telenet.be
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:54c6:4649::54c6:4649(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.130.132
    195.130.131.132
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled


    And a ping to the DNS server:

    C:\Users\Damian>ping 195.130.130.132

    Pinging 195.130.130.132 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 195.130.130.132:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),


    I really hope someone can help me with this.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    thats not a router IP address
    is this the same internet in the same house ?

    can you describe how things are connected - and also make and models of modem and routers
     
  3. Damcios2509

    Damcios2509 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Yes it's the same internet in the same house on the same modem and router.
    I called my isp about it and it seems to be a probl at my end. They told me my ip and DNS are correct, I can ping my own ip but not that of the laptop witch is connected trough the same router, as if my pc can't go any further than it.

    The connection goes like this :
    Modem ( Arris / TM402B (DOCSIS) ) -> Router ( TP-Link tl-sf1005d v9.0) -> Laptop and pc
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    lets see an ipconfig /all from the working PC
    how is the modem connected to the router - what port ?
     
  5. Damcios2509

    Damcios2509 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    C:\Documents and Settings\Asus>ipconfig/all

    Konfiguracja IP systemu Windows

    Nazwa hosta . . . . . . . . . . . : TWOJA-ZVIRQM73L
    Sufiks podstawowej domeny DNS . . . . . . :
    Typ węzła . . . . . . . . . . . . : Nieznany
    Routing IP włączony . . . . . . . : Nie
    Serwer WINS Proxy włączony. . . . : Nie
    Lista przeszukiwania sufiksów DNS : telenet.be

    Karta Ethernet Połączenie lokalne:

    Sufiks DNS konkretnego połączenia : telenet.be
    Opis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet C
    ontroller
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 90-E6-BA-02-AB-97
    DHCP włączone . . . . . . . . . . : Tak
    Autokonfiguracja włączona . . . . : Tak
    Adres IP. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 84.198.69.232
    Maska podsieci. . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Brama domyślna. . . . . . . . . . : 84.198.64.1
    Serwer DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.137.3
    Serwery DNS . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.130.132
    195.130.131.132
    Dzierżawa uzyskana. . . . . . . . : 9 września 2012 16:51:21
    Dzierżawa wygasa. . . . . . . . . : 9 września 2012 18:51:21

    Karta Ethernet Połączenie sieci bezprzewodowej:

    Stan nośnika . . . . . . . . . . : Nośnik odłączony
    Opis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adap
    ter
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-25-D3-67-5D-6D

    C:\Documents and Settings\Asus>

    the system language is polish...

    The modem is connected to the router by cable to 1 of the ports at it's back, the manual didn't specify witch one to use for the modem so we just chose 1.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you must have change the connection - with a modem that will only allow 1 PC at a time to connect in that configuration

    change the modem cable from using port 1 on the router to use the WAN/Internet/Modem socket
    then do a powercycle and see if that now works

    if not in the new setting lets see another ipconfig /all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    How to power cycle

    “power cycle” process to reboot or reset the modem/router
    • Switch off all the devices modem, router and computers also unplug their power cables.
    • Wait at least 1 to 5 minutes,
    • Plug the power cords back in, but don’t switch them on.
    • First turn on the modem and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Next switch on the router (if a seperate device) and then wait for a few minutes for it to settle and all the lights to become stable.
    • Now turn on your computer, You should now be able to access the Internet.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Damcios2509

    Damcios2509 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Did it all and still nothing.
     
  8. SatelliteGirl

    SatelliteGirl

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    I had the same problem of having a strong wireless connection but still not getting on the internet, with the message "DNS server not responding." Wasted lots of time following other peoples suggestion to update the network adapter because I couldn't find one newer than the one I had for my Atheros AR5006EG. But the problem wasn't a driver. Also tried DNS Jumper, to no avail. It turned out that some of the settings viewed in ipconfig/all had been changed by the server. Why, I don't know, but at first the connection was hit or miss, and then after several weeks I had no connection at all. (I don't use a router--the wifi is throughout my building but access is thru subscription.) THIS WAS THE FIX: In Windows XP Home, click Start, Settings, Network Connections. Right-click Wireless Network Connection, then click Properties. On the General tab, in "This connecton uses the following items," scroll down to and highlight/select the last item, "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP), then click Properties. On the General tab, select "Obtain IP address automatically" and select "Obtain DNS server automatically." Click OK. Hopefully that will work instantly for you and you will be surfing again. Upon checking using CommandPrompt and typing in ipconfig/all, I noticed that the new configuration was different from back when my internet used to work smoothly. The DNS server number had changed, as well as my own IP address. My server company wasn't aware of this as the possible cause of the problem and was going to send a technician to my apartment when they couldn't fix it remotely. Good thing I figured it out. I hope this helps people out there. How about some feedback posts?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with the router and modem connected as described
     
  10. Damcios2509

    Damcios2509 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Well my connection in wired and I'm on Vista :) I already set everything to automatic since i was using 8.8.8.8 as my DNS server before (Google's if i remeber correctly). Won't help in my case but thx for your time anyway.
     
  11. Damcios2509

    Damcios2509 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Not working pc :

    C:\Users\Damian>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Damian-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : telenet.be

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-60-00-C4-68-16
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::405d:b74c:b53:4b6b%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 84.198.70.73(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 10 września 2012 17:28:50
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 10 września 2012 18:59:00
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 84.198.64.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.137.3
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 231235584
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-17-96-C2-0A-C8-60-00-C4-68-1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.130.132
    195.130.131.132
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.telenet.be
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 12:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : telenet.be
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:54c6:4649::54c6:4649(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.130.132
    195.130.131.132
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Working :


    C:\Documents and Settings\Asus>ipconfig/all

    Konfiguracja IP systemu Windows

    Nazwa hosta . . . . . . . . . . . : TWOJA-ZVIRQM73L
    Sufiks podstawowej domeny DNS . . . . . . :
    Typ węzła . . . . . . . . . . . . : Nieznany
    Routing IP włączony . . . . . . . : Nie
    Serwer WINS Proxy włączony. . . . : Nie
    Lista przeszukiwania sufiksów DNS : telenet.be

    Karta Ethernet Połączenie lokalne:

    Sufiks DNS konkretnego połączenia : telenet.be
    Opis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet C
    ontroller
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 90-E6-BA-02-AB-97
    DHCP włączone . . . . . . . . . . : Tak
    Autokonfiguracja włączona . . . . : Tak
    Adres IP. . . . . . . . . . . . . : 84.198.69.232
    Maska podsieci. . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Brama domyślna. . . . . . . . . . : 84.198.64.1
    Serwer DHCP . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.137.3
    Serwery DNS . . . . . . . . . . . : 195.130.130.132
    195.130.131.132
    Dzierżawa uzyskana. . . . . . . . : 9 września 2012 17:31:31
    Dzierżawa wygasa. . . . . . . . . : 9 września 2012 18:51:19

    Karta Ethernet Połączenie sieci bezprzewodowej:

    Stan nośnika . . . . . . . . . . : Nośnik odłączony
    Opis . . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adap
    ter
    Adres fizyczny. . . . . . . . . . : 00-25-D3-67-5D-6D

    C:\Documents and Settings\Asus>
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your still showing as a public IP address which is not usual on a router unless connected up incorrectly

    OK so the http://www.tp-link.com.au/products/details/?model=TL-SF1005D is a switch and NOT a router
    user guide
    http://www.tp-link.com.au/Resources/document/TL-SF1005D_V2_User_Guide.pdf

    to run two PCs you need a router or for the ISP to supply two IP address - and that is usually expensive

    http://www.arrisi.com/support/documentation/user_guides/_docs/TM402_User_Guide.pdf
    not been able to establish if the modem is acting as a router

    has anything been changed in the setup connections etc at all
     
  13. Damcios2509

    Damcios2509 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Nope nothing was changed. My connection can support 4 ip adresses/pc's by default. This connnection did work for over 3 years without a problem. I doubt the modem is a router. I was on the net till 2 am and then when i woke up at 11 i had this error.
     
  14. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,891
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it maybe worth discussing with the ISP now - just in case they only have 1 IP for you now
     
  15. Damcios2509

    Damcios2509 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    I did call them yesterday and everything seems right on their end.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1068274

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice