1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: "DNS Lookup Error"

Discussion in 'Networking' started by BLCain, Oct 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BLCain

    BLCain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Well, here I go again!
    After getting my wireless working from the house to the shop, everything was going great - then - I started getting the "DNS Lookup Error" on almost all web pages I would try. This is happening on all computers.
    Sometimes if I click the "reload current page" icon, the page will load. Other times it will not.
    Looking at the Linksys router setup page, it shows the DNS as my internet provider. Could be something going on with the sat connection (Hughes Net) I have released and renewed several times and the address comes back the same. Hughes might be having some problems because it was working just fine. I changed nothing anywhere after I got things going so I know it was not me - I think.
    Any ideas?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Many times, ISP's experience DNS issues for a time, they're usually corrected within hours or at least a day or two. You can try an alternate DNS server to see if it resolves the issue, that will tell you if it's the ISP.


    Let's try replacing your DNS server. Follow the instructions at OpenDNS for Windows and configure to use OpenDNS for your DNS server. See if that makes a difference.
     
  3. BLCain

    BLCain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry for the lag in response. Been away a few days.
    I forgot about opendns. Thanks for the reminder.
    Opendns can't see that I have their IP's on the router. Works fine tho.
    Guess I "have a Porsche stuck in first gear" because I can't create an account with them. No problem.
    "nslookup www.opendns.com." shows I'm using them. So, all's well that ends well!
    Thanks again.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  5. BLCain

    BLCain Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Sorry, thought I did.
    Thanks.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/755359