1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: DNS Lookup Failed--Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by mkh1980, Feb 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mkh1980

    mkh1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Hello,

    I recently purchased a new HP computer. It has an Intel Core i5-3330 processor with 8 GB RAM. The OS is Windows 8 64 bit. Whenever I am downloading I am unable to use any of the browsers. I always get the error "DNS Lookup Failed". I have tried using Google Chrome and IE 8.

    Could someone please help me resolve this? I have DSL Wifi and it runs at 12 mbps. Please let me know what other information you may need!!
     
  2. reticentAJ

    reticentAJ

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,312
    First Name:
    AJ
    Seems that there is a problem with DNS. Try putting this address into your browser of this computer:
    http://74.125.224.72/

    This should take you to google.com. DNS allows us to put in memorable names, such as google.com, but the computer doesn't understand this. It is the job of the DNS server (typically your router) to look up the the ip address of the name you have typed into the address bar.

    First, make sure that address works. It should definitely get to google. If not, then there are other problems besides DNS. Also, hit the windows log key + R. This will bring up a window. Type cmd and hit enter. In the black box that pops up, type ipconfig/all and copy and paste these results into this form.
     
  3. mkh1980

    mkh1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Missy>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MyPC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : gateway.2wire.net

    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-80-87-02
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wi-Fi:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT5390R 802.11bgn Wi-Fi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-80-87-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::d848:93d6:a914:a2bc%13(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.112(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, February 13, 2013 1:48:58 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 2:02:43 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 258511907
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-01-96-5B-B4-B5-2F-C4-89-11

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.254.254
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : sgt.automation.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B4-B5-2F-C4-89-11
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.gateway.2wire.net:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway.2wire.net
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:953c:3ca6:dfa:b8e3:df7b(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3ca6:dfa:b8e3:df7b%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 520093696
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-01-96-5B-B4-B5-2F-C4-89-11

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    C:\Users\Missy>
     
  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,344
    Go Control Panel Network and Internet
    then go Network and Sharing Centre
    Then go change adapter settings on left hand pane
    then right click wireless adapter
    then scroll in window to IPV6 click to highlight and then click the properties button
    Now ensure that on the window that opens
    IPV6 address
    and
    DNS
    are both set automatic.
    exit out with OK and close as necessary
    Reboot and retry

    If that does not work
    you are I think using a Gateway 2 wire router or it is incorporated into the modem
    See this
    Open a web browser like Internet Explorer and type "gateway.2wire.net" in the address bar. This should bring up the modem's graphical user interface

    Click on the "Run system setup wizard" link. The system setup wizard reconfigures the modem with default settings to ensure that it is set up correctly. When prompted, enter your username and password
     
  5. reticentAJ

    reticentAJ

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Messages:
    1,312
    First Name:
    AJ
    You did not answer whether or not this got you to google.
     
  6. mkh1980

    mkh1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Yes, google opened. Sorry, I was in a hurry earlier!
     
  7. mkh1980

    mkh1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Which password does it need? My wireless password? My Authorized User password on my computer?
     
  8. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,344
    1. Have you tried what I suggested FIRST

    2. Also I read your opening post as you cannot download - it reports DNS lookup failure
    So are you saying all is OK until you try and download

    3. To further explain
    DNS is Domain Name so it enables you to log on and go to websites by name, as against what you did on the suggestion of my colleague going in by IP address.

    4. Did it work OK at first - purchased new HP computer and what have you installed by way of software, programs, anti-virus, firewalls etc since you got it and can you relate anything to when it stopped working

    5. To answer your last re the password it is the password on the router access if there is one required, but that is NOT the thing to try first - as I said
     
  9. mkh1980

    mkh1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Yes, both of the first things are set to automatic. And, yes, I can not use a browser when I am downloading, it says DNS lookup failed. I also get this error when I first start up my computer, but all works fine after a few seconds.

    My older laptop would say DNS lookup failed at times. I first noticed this issue after installing BitTorrent, but I hadn't tried downloading anything prior to downloading this software. Anti-Virus is Norton, which came on the computer, and I have installed Microsoft Office 2010. Everything else was pre-programmed.

    My router password does not work.
     
  10. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,344
    1. To save you some time there is no advantage in quoting back to me the whole of my post
    You only need to quote anything you wish to highlight

    2. I suspect Bit Torrent - uninstall it please - REBBOOT and TEST - if no good

    3. Temporarily disable Norton, TEST and see what happens.
    It may have been on the computer, as you say, but an update to windows or Norton may have caused this.
     
  11. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,344
    I am signng off
    Good night

    I cannot help with the accesss to the router, as if you have not set a password, it is blank just leave it blank or it is the default one listed on the router

    I doubt it is the router settings, I would as I said suspect Bit Torrent

    Can you connect hard wired to the modem and see what happens






    Back about 1600 UK time
    Good luck
     
  12. mkh1980

    mkh1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    BitTorrent gone, rebooted. Attempted to download a game from the Windows 8 Store. Could not connect to this website, DNS lookup failed. The Windows Store said it could not connect. I Disconnected from the internet, then reconnected and the game finished and I could get on here.

    I can't seem to download and use a browser at the same time....
     
  13. mkh1980

    mkh1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Is the router password different from the security code to connect to the internet?

    I'll try connecting hard wired tomorrow.
     
  14. mkh1980

    mkh1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Sorry for the double post!

    I disabled Norton, still no go. Is the router password the same as the security password we use to connect to the internet?

    I'll try to hard wire it tomorrow.
     
  15. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,344
    1. Open a cmd prompt as admin
    that is windows key
    type (know there is no box to type in)
    cmd
    on the screen that opens click the applications right hand side
    on the window that then opens right click cmd prompt and click run as admin
    at the prompt type
    ipconfig /flushdns

    key enter you should receive confirmation.
    type

    ipconfig /registerdns

    key enter


    type exit the cmd window will close.
    REBOOT
    try again and see if that has worked please


    2. In reply to your other question, the password if it is set is the router password , not the windows password, not any other site password, unles of course it has been set the same.
    Do you not have any user guide for it.

    3. Also I have just noticed that you say you have tried using IE8 - windows 8 comes with IE10.
    IE8 is not suitable for windows 8
    Did you use the F12 key on IE and then click Browser mode tab and select the IE 8 from there

    4. Post please the full model details of the HP laptop
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1089975

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice