1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: DNS Stopped Working?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ohjustaguyiknow, Dec 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ohjustaguyiknow

    ohjustaguyiknow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    I'm running XPSP2 with a Belkin wireless Card MN: F5D7001. Until last night it was working perfectly fine. I restarted last night out of habit, and when I re-booted, trying to access a page on Firefox or IE let to a "Page Can Not Be Displayed." Figuring I did something, I System Restored two days back, and still nothing.

    Now, see I can access my Netgear router's config page, as well as the shared folders on all other computers on my network (which can all access the internet FYI). Also, from the command prompt I can ping other websites by IP address, though not by www addresses. My guess is that there's some DNS issue, but I haven't fooled with any DNS stuff. All my computers are set to auto detect DNS settigns from the router, which is in turn set to detect DNS settings from my ISP (Comcast High Speed Cable). So... Yeah. Any ideas?

    I have restarted my computer, and release/renewed my adapter numerous times
    I have power-cycled my Motorola Surfboard Modem and my Netgear Wireless Router.

    ??:confused:??

    Edit: is it possible that is is some sort of firewall issue? I'm running McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.5.0i
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,519
    Sometimes, and I have no idea why, DNS won't work when the router assigns its own address to the computer for DNS (even though it's working on the other computers on the same LAN). Try OpenDNS on your computer: http://www.opendns.com/

    Click on "Get Started" and then on "Computer" and then on your operating system for directions.
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Try using the DNS server IP address for your ISP. You can determine that from the router's status.
     
  4. ohjustaguyiknow

    ohjustaguyiknow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Thanks to both, but neither worked. This highly bizarre and I've no understanding of how this happened.

    It also seems that I've lost the ability to ping using IP address in a command prompt. I have no use of SOCKS or POP protocols as well as HTTP.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,519
    Did you find a solution, or was this marked 'solved' by mistake?
     
  6. ohjustaguyiknow

    ohjustaguyiknow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Nope, I solved it by my lonesome, though I appreciate all the help :) There was a random setting that had somehow become unchecked "allow internet connections on this device" and for some reason that was the only issue.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/666061