1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Domain Name Server

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Wurzel68, Dec 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Wurzel68

    Wurzel68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Hi.

    I am using Windows Vista Home Premium on a Laptop.
    Networked to Windows XP, was working until Tuesday when I installed ZoneAlarm version:8.0.065.000 on both computers now I cannot connect Vista to XP.

    error code 0x80070035
    cannot find The Domain Name Server

    Thank you for your help.
     
  2. pal

    pal

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Have you set up a Trusted Zone in ZoneAlarm's Firewall settings that includes the ip address of both computers? Otherwise, Zone Alarm will block access between the computers.

    Select Firewall options, in the Zones tab, click the Add button, select IP Range, choose Trusted as zone type, and select the ip addresses of the two computers as first and last addresses in the range. Repeat same settings on other machine...
     
  3. Wurzel68

    Wurzel68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Where do I find the IP Addresses for the Computers.
     
  4. pal

    pal

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    If you didn't set the ip address, then the simplest way to find it is to open a Command Prompt window (Start - All Programs - Accessories - Command Prompt in XP, not sure about Vista!)
    Type the command "ipconfig" (without the quotes) which will tell you the ip address of that computer.

    Usually, the first 3 numbers would be the same on both machines while the last would be different. Say 192.168.1.1 on the first, and 192.168.1.2 on the second. If the ip address is being set by the computers automatically (ie. you can't guarantee it will always be the same), it may pay to open a wider range of addresses in the trusted zone. For the above example, perhaps 192.168.1.0 to 192.168.1.10, or if you want to be really sure, perhaps even all the way to 192.168.1.255, which is the upper limit of the range.
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Uninstall Zone Alarm as the first step. Since this was the initial trigger for the issue, I'd remove that first. You might also consider a system restore to before you installed it to return to the state when it was working.
     
  6. Wurzel68

    Wurzel68 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Hi.

    Uninstalled Zone Alarm on both computers, I did not do a system restore,
    everything is now back to normal.

    Thank you for your help.

    Rod.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/781447

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice