1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Don't understand xcopy in CMD

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by jpboyrox, Apr 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    I keep trying this:
    xcopy PTC "D:\Users\USERNAME\Desktop\

    but it keep s returning no files copied.
    Why is that?
     
  2. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    obviously i am putting in my username where it says USERNAME
     
  3. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Is it also saying File not found - PTC?
    I'm assuming there is a closing double quote after the \, or you'd get a Parse error.
     
  4. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    No. It is saying the following:

    D:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Josh's Documents\My Downloads>xcopy PTC "D:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Josh's Documents\My Videos"
    0 File(s) copied

    The folder is there and has files and folders in it but won't copy
     
  5. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    So you are trying to copy this folder:
    D:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Josh's Documents\My Downloads\PTC
    to here:
    "D:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Josh's Documents\My Videos"

    The Xcopy command you are using will only copy the files in the top level of the PTC folder. If will not copy any folders that are in the PTC folder, or the files they contain.
    Does the PTC folder have files in it's top level?
    What does a Dir PTC command show?
     
  6. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    ah, well there's my problem. There are no files on the top level, only folders containing files themselves. How can I copy the entire folder, in the same way that right-click -> copy would? Also how can I delete an entire folder?

    dir PTC returns the following:

    Directory of D:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Josh's Documents\My Downloads\ptc

    05/04/2010 00:31 <DIR> .
    05/04/2010 00:31 <DIR> ..
    05/04/2010 00:31 <DIR> ProDESKTOP 8.0
    0 File(s) 0 bytes
    3 Dir(s) 953,693,806,592 bytes free
     
  7. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    You can get help on most commands in the command prompt by typing the command followed by /?
    Xcopy /? for example:
    Code:
    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    
    C:\>xcopy /?
    Copies files and directory trees.
    
    XCOPY source [destination] [/A | /M] [/D[:date]] [/P] [/S [/E]] [/V] [/W]
                               [/C] [/I] [/Q] [/F] [/L] [/G] [/H] [/R] [/T] [/U]
                               [/K] [/N] [/O] [/X] [/Y] [/-Y] [/Z]
                               [/EXCLUDE:file1[+file2][+file3]...]
    
      source       Specifies the file(s) to copy.
      destination  Specifies the location and/or name of new files.
      /A           Copies only files with the archive attribute set,
                   doesn't change the attribute.
      /M           Copies only files with the archive attribute set,
                   turns off the archive attribute.
      /D:m-d-y     Copies files changed on or after the specified date.
                   If no date is given, copies only those files whose
                   source time is newer than the destination time.
      /EXCLUDE:file1[+file2][+file3]...
                   Specifies a list of files containing strings.  Each string
                   should be in a separate line in the files.  When any of the
                   strings match any part of the absolute path of the file to be
                   copied, that file will be excluded from being copied.  For
                   example, specifying a string like \obj\ or .obj will exclude
                   all files underneath the directory obj or all files with the
                   .obj extension respectively.
      /P           Prompts you before creating each destination file.
      /S           Copies directories and subdirectories except empty ones.
      [COLOR=Red][B]/E           Copies directories and subdirectories, including empty ones.[/B][/COLOR]
                   Same as /S /E. May be used to modify /T.
      /V           Verifies each new file.
      /W           Prompts you to press a key before copying.
      /C           Continues copying even if errors occur.
      /I           If destination does not exist and copying more than one file,
                   assumes that destination must be a directory.
      /Q           Does not display file names while copying.
      /F           Displays full source and destination file names while copying.
      /L           Displays files that would be copied.
      /G           Allows the copying of encrypted files to destination that does
                   not support encryption.
      /H           Copies hidden and system files also.
      /R           Overwrites read-only files.
      /T           Creates directory structure, but does not copy files. Does not
                   include empty directories or subdirectories. /T /E includes
                   empty directories and subdirectories.
      /U           Copies only files that already exist in destination.
      /K           Copies attributes. Normal Xcopy will reset read-only attributes.
      /N           Copies using the generated short names.
      /O           Copies file ownership and ACL information.
      /X           Copies file audit settings (implies /O).
      /Y           Suppresses prompting to confirm you want to overwrite an
                   existing destination file.
      /-Y          Causes prompting to confirm you want to overwrite an
                   existing destination file.
      /Z           Copies networked files in restartable mode.
    
    The switch /Y may be preset in the COPYCMD environment variable.
    This may be overridden with /-Y on the command line.
    
    C:\>
    So to copy a folder tree, use this:
    Code:
    Xcopy [COLOR=Red][B]/E[/B][/COLOR] PTC "D:\Users\Josh\Desktop\Josh's Documents\My Videos\"
     
  8. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Thanks a lot. I actually did that but obviously didn't read through it carefully enough
     
  9. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Perhaps I should create a new article for this, I will if I receive no replies but why does this not work:
    if %delete%==y goto y
    if %delete%==n goto n

    :y
    cls
    rd /s/q PTC
    cls
    echo Files Deleted!
    pause

    :n
    cls
    echo Files not deleted
    pause

    If 'n' is selected it skips :y but if 'y' is selected it runs :y and then :n
    Why is that and how can i sort it out?
     
  10. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    After the pause at the end of the :y section, it continues with the next line in the file. You need a goto after the y section, just before the :n label, to go around the :n section.
    Code:
    if %delete%==y goto y
    if %delete%==n goto n
     
    :y
    cls 
    rd /s/q PTC
    cls
    echo Files Deleted!
    pause
    [COLOR=Red]Goto :skip[/COLOR]
    :n
    cls
    echo Files not deleted
    pause
    
    :skip
    Or make each section part of the If statement:
    Code:
    if %delete%==y (
        :y
        cls
        rd /s/q PTC
        cls
        echo Files Deleted!
        pause
    )
    if %delete%==n (
        :n
        cls
        echo Files not deleted
        pause
    )
    The parentheses act as a Line Continuation character, so the above is actualy seen as just 2 lines:
    Code:
    if %delete%==y cls&(rd /s/q PTC)&cls&(echo Files Deleted!)&pause
    if %delete%==n cls&(echo Files not deleted)&pause
    
     
  11. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    http://forums.techguy.org/windows-xp/915120-using-set-cmd.html
     
  12. jpboyrox

    jpboyrox Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    344
    Do the parentheses always do this, even if I am not using this command?
     
  13. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    For the most part. It can't be used in the middle of a command though, only between commands. And Echo statements have to be enclosed in parentheses so the command processor knows where the Echo command ends.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Don't understand
  1. xyl3
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    563
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/914743

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice