Solved: dos command

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

24giovanni

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Jun 14, 2003
Messages
1,083
is there a search/ find command in DOS to find a certain file? If so, what is the correct syntax to do it please? TIA

I am trying to find the following:

io.sys
config.sys

I found io.sys and tried copying it but it didn't work with the following command to a floppy copy io.sys a:

ANY IDEA WHY?

tia
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2004
Messages
7,235
dir /s Filename it will tell you every dir rooted under it E.G.

C:\ Dir /s Filename will show you all Filename files under c: even if nested 4 directories down.

As for copying and finding system files read this -

You cannot copy the system file as is, because it’s protected. For example, if you do "DIR IO.SYS" the file will not be found. You first have to change the file attributes:

a:/> attrib -R -A -S -H IO.SYS

then copy the file:

a:/> copy IO.SYS c:/IO.SYS

then change back the attributes:

a:/> attrib +R +A +S +H c:/IO.SYS
 

24giovanni

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Jun 14, 2003
Messages
1,083
i tried the following:

a:/> attrib -R -A -S -H IO.SYS

then copy the file:

c:/> copy IO.SYS a:/IO.SYS

then change back the attributes:

a:/> attrib +R +A +S +H c:/IO.SYS

but it still wouldn't copy. What am I doing wgong please?

TIA
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
How about just trying to copy to a: instead of specifying a file name?
 

24giovanni

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Jun 14, 2003
Messages
1,083
i did try it again but now I get

it says overwrite y/n/all and i try all3 but it says access denied. What am I doing wrong please?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
I'd say try another floppy disk ;)

Is there another location that you can save it to other than a floppy? If so, try that.
 

24giovanni

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Jun 14, 2003
Messages
1,083
i've tried multiple floppies and the HD...would it be something else? Do you think JohnWIll would know?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
You've tried to copy it to the c: drive as well?

Can I ask what exactly is your mission here? :D
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top