Solved: Dos program to XP Pro copy problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

whinnery2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2005
Messages
2
I am having trouble running a dos medical office management program after
copying it via a Zip disk from a Windows 95 to a Windows XP computer.
All files copy correctly and are installed on the Win XP hard drive ultimately.
When I start the program It tells me that I need to increase the number of
files in the Config.sys file from 40 to at least 99 files. After going to
the Sysedit32 folder in XP, I found the Config.sys file (with nothing in it) and
wrote the FILES=99. After re-booting XP I still get the same message.
The dos program starts up the same way. When I copied and installed
the program to another Win 95 or 98 computer the program runs fine after
changing the Config.sys FILES=40 as prompted. Am I changing the correct
file? The program uses FOXPRO 2.5 for the databases. The is no Config.sys
file in the dos program. The computers are working fine otherwise with other
dos programs installed. Can this program be run on XP?
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2003
Messages
17,584
XP has no real DOS, like Windows 9x does.

It has only a DOS emulator. Create a shortcut to the program, right click the shortcut, select Properties, Compatability. Set it to run as Windows 95.

Post back if that does not work, but it may be that it is not compatable with XP-DOS emulation. Most things can be got to run however.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy folks...

XP uses CONFIG.NT to initialize the MS-DOS environment....

Try editing the CONFIG.NT file located in windows\system32, and change the files statement there...

REM Windows MS-DOS Startup File
REM
REM CONFIG.SYS vs CONFIG.NT
REM CONFIG.SYS is not used to initialize the MS-DOS environment.
REM CONFIG.NT is used to initialize the MS-DOS environment unless a
REM different startup file is specified in an application's PIF.
REM
REM ECHOCONFIG
REM By default, no information is displayed when the MS-DOS environment
REM is initialized. To display CONFIG.NT/AUTOEXEC.NT information, add
REM the command echoconfig to CONFIG.NT or other startup file.
REM
REM NTCMDPROMPT
REM When you return to the command prompt from a TSR or while running an
REM MS-DOS-based application, Windows runs COMMAND.COM. This allows the
REM TSR to remain active. To run CMD.EXE, the Windows command prompt,
REM rather than COMMAND.COM, add the command ntcmdprompt to CONFIG.NT or
REM other startup file.
REM
REM DOSONLY
REM By default, you can start any type of application when running
REM COMMAND.COM. If you start an application other than an MS-DOS-based
REM application, any running TSR may be disrupted. To ensure that only
REM MS-DOS-based applications can be started, add the command dosonly to
REM CONFIG.NT or other startup file.
REM
REM EMM
REM You can use EMM command line to configure EMM(Expanded Memory Manager).
REM The syntax is:
REM
REM EMM = [A=AltRegSets] [B=BaseSegment] [RAM]
REM
REM AltRegSets
REM specifies the total Alternative Mapping Register Sets you
REM want the system to support. 1 <= AltRegSets <= 255. The
REM default value is 8.
REM BaseSegment
REM specifies the starting segment address in the Dos conventional
REM memory you want the system to allocate for EMM page frames.
REM The value must be given in Hexdecimal.
REM 0x1000 <= BaseSegment <= 0x4000. The value is rounded down to
REM 16KB boundary. The default value is 0x4000
REM RAM
REM specifies that the system should only allocate 64Kb address
REM space from the Upper Memory Block(UMB) area for EMM page frames
REM and leave the rests(if available) to be used by DOS to support
REM loadhigh and devicehigh commands. The system, by default, would
REM allocate all possible and available UMB for page frames.
REM
REM The EMM size is determined by pif file(either the one associated
REM with your application or _default.pif). If the size from PIF file
REM is zero, EMM will be disabled and the EMM line will be ignored.
 

whinnery2

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2005
Messages
2
Thanks for the suggestions! Accessing the Config.NT file to change the FILES=x line did the trick.
Would have been a real pain without your kind advice. Thanks again!!!
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
6
Had trouble running FoxPro25 application (AsnPlus) Was getting Divide by Zero error when run on Win. 2000 from Win98 machine. Problem went away when I had multiple programs running and then started AsnPlus. I take it, was using different memory location.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
6
workingman said:
Had trouble running FoxPro25 application (AsnPlus) Was getting Divide by Zero error when run on Win. 2000 from Win98 machine. Problem went away when I had multiple programs running and then started AsnPlus. I take it, was using different memory location.

Problem solved by getting new FOXW2600.ESL file from ASNPlus folks
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top