1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Dos program to XP Pro copy problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by whinnery2, Jan 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. whinnery2

    whinnery2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    I am having trouble running a dos medical office management program after
    copying it via a Zip disk from a Windows 95 to a Windows XP computer.
    All files copy correctly and are installed on the Win XP hard drive ultimately.
    When I start the program It tells me that I need to increase the number of
    files in the Config.sys file from 40 to at least 99 files. After going to
    the Sysedit32 folder in XP, I found the Config.sys file (with nothing in it) and
    wrote the FILES=99. After re-booting XP I still get the same message.
    The dos program starts up the same way. When I copied and installed
    the program to another Win 95 or 98 computer the program runs fine after
    changing the Config.sys FILES=40 as prompted. Am I changing the correct
    file? The program uses FOXPRO 2.5 for the databases. The is no Config.sys
    file in the dos program. The computers are working fine otherwise with other
    dos programs installed. Can this program be run on XP?
     
  2. p8jx6

    p8jx6

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    if it is a WIN 9x program try running it in compatibiltiy mode
     
  3. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    XP has no real DOS, like Windows 9x does.

    It has only a DOS emulator. Create a shortcut to the program, right click the shortcut, select Properties, Compatability. Set it to run as Windows 95.

    Post back if that does not work, but it may be that it is not compatable with XP-DOS emulation. Most things can be got to run however.
     
  4. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy folks...

    XP uses CONFIG.NT to initialize the MS-DOS environment....

    Try editing the CONFIG.NT file located in windows\system32, and change the files statement there...

     
  5. whinnery2

    whinnery2 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks for the suggestions! Accessing the Config.NT file to change the FILES=x line did the trick.
    Would have been a real pain without your kind advice. Thanks again!!!
     
  6. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    You're welcome...

    Glad it worked :D...
     
  7. workingman

    workingman

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Had trouble running FoxPro25 application (AsnPlus) Was getting Divide by Zero error when run on Win. 2000 from Win98 machine. Problem went away when I had multiple programs running and then started AsnPlus. I take it, was using different memory location.
     
  8. workingman

    workingman

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6

    Problem solved by getting new FOXW2600.ESL file from ASNPlus folks
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved program copy
  1. Technoid1
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    336
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/324452

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice