1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Dots between words in MS Word '11 Mac - ¶ DOESN'T work

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by tcottarel, Oct 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tcottarel

    tcottarel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hello all,

    I have had this problem for a while, and after a few frustrating hours of not being able to figure it out, I resorted to using Pages for a few weeks. Don't get me wrong, Pages is great, but Word seems to have more customization to it.

    Now, incase you didn't get it from the title, here's my problem:

    I'm [trying to] use Microsoft Word 2011 on my Mac.

    When I type, small dots appear between all of my words.

    I searched around on the internet for a bit, and people told me [and other users] to click the ¶ button. I tried this, but it didn't work. All it did was make ¶s appear next to all the lines of text. And when I clicked the ¶ button again, all the ¶s went away, but the dots stayed.

    Now, with the school year getting busier by the day, I want a good program to do my work with.


    It would be absolutely fantastic if anyone here could give me some help on this.


    Thanks,
    Tristan
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,858
    Do these "dots" print when you print out a copy?

    I do NOT have 2010, but in 2007 try the following

    I think you may have the "Spaces" turned on within the "Options" area, then the Display tab and the in the "Always show these formatting marks...". If there is a check mark by any of the list other than "Show all formatting marks" then remove them.
     
  3. tcottarel

    tcottarel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Thank you so much!

    Your instructions were a little different than what I had to do, but thanks to you, I figured it out!
     
  4. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,858
    I have not seen a copy of Office for the Mac, so I was not sure if things are similar or not.

    If the is solved, then you need to select the "Solved" button when you are viewing this thread.

    Glad to be of help.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1021821