1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Download speed cut in half

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Speediakal, Aug 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Speediakal

    Speediakal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    So I just got a new laptop and unhooked my desktop and hooked that cable up to my new laptop (the ethernet cable that is). My internet has been given me garbage speeds (max 60KBps) on my desktop. So when I hooked up my laptop I immediately did a speed test on dslreports. I got just over 1.2Mbps and downloads were going at a regular 165 KBps. But then for some reason it just completely dropped down to 60KBps. Also I did a port test and before it dropped, a lot of the ports I tried were open, but after the drop, basically every port was closed.

    So is this because of closed ports or something else? I should also note that the download speed has declined before. I can't remember the last time I got 1.2 Mbps. Before I got 60 KBps, I had it at 120 KBps, and then before that I had it at 1.2 Mbps. This is soo frustrating and I don't understand any of it. Also when I took a test on speedtest.net (when I had 1.2 Mbps) and compared it to the average ISP speed, I was not even close. I was waaayyy down...

    The router is a Linksys RVS4000 if that helps.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,997
    First Name:
    Terry
    What are you getting with a connection directly to the modem? (Remember to power cycle the modem when switching from router to computer and vice versa.)
     
  3. Speediakal

    Speediakal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    When I connect directly to the modem I keep getting a DNS server error. But when I connected it all back up to the router, I got 1.3 Mbps! I don't know how long that will last though.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,997
    First Name:
    Terry
    Maybe the router just needed a short nap. :)
     
  5. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Phase of the moon? :D
     
  6. Speediakal

    Speediakal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Ya well it sure as hell was shortlived. Booted up the lappy today and got the slow 60 KBps. I power cycled the modem, unplugged everything, shut it off then shut it on, I tried everything. This is soo frustrating, how can it work one day perfectly then the next day work horribly???
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    76,997
    First Name:
    Terry
    You've had the problem with two computers so it's probably not a computer problem.

    Could be your ISP, your interior wiring, the modem, the router, or one of the cables connected to the router.

    The easiest to test or eliminate are the router and cables.
     
  8. Speediakal

    Speediakal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Every cable is giving me the same slow speed. The weird thing is my upload doesn't change, only my download.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's best to run this test with a direct wired connection to eliminate any wireless issues from the results. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

    The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

    If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
    http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
    and your IP will be disguised.

    Copy/paste that link here.

    Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.


    DSLReports

    Here's also the Line Quality Tests FAQ to help you understand the results. This will answer some questions about the line quality display.
     
  10. Speediakal

    Speediakal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Thats the first thing I tried. I couldn't become pingable. I read the FAQ on becoming pingable and followed it precisely (I have McAfee). Nothing changed. I tried turning off the firewall and it still wouldn't become pingable.

    I tried making my router pingable but the password must have been changed as putting admin in doesn't do it.
     
  11. soloxuk

    soloxuk

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Start > Run > msconfig

    Untick all in Startup Items, reboot, then try pinging.

    This should resolve non pingable providing its your PC related, if not maybe ISP issue.

    EDIT: Also check windows firewall is off. :D

    You need to restart the modem when plugging from router to your PC also...

    Also, does the problem only occur with the laptop? or isit with both units now?
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    If you can't get into the settings for the router, that's where the problem lies. Most will default to ICMP (PING) response off.

    Reset the router to defaults and reconfigure, that way you know what the password is. :D
     
  13. Speediakal

    Speediakal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Wow this internet is really messed up. I didn't do anything and now it's back to normal speed. It will probably go down, but I guess it doesn't really matter as I'm out of here in a couple of days.Anyways, thanks for all the help guys, appreciate it.
     
  14. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the first page of the thread in the upper left corner.© :)
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/856364

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice