1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: download - timed out

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by queen8855, Nov 24, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. queen8855

queen8855 Thread Starter

I have tried seveal times to download SPYBOT S&D -- each time it starts to download and within seconds I get the message "timed out". It was also doing the same downloading WINUTILITIES - it finally did download for me. I am running win7 -Kaspersky - is my anti virus. I am a very confused novice!! Thank you in advance dor any suggestions.

2. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    Don't bother to download Spybot - Search & Destroy because there are better and more user-friendly ones.

What type of internet connection do you have?

--------------------------------------------------------

3. Mark1956

Mark1956

I'll second that, Spybot is not very highly rated. Use this instead SuperAntiSpyware

I would also avoid any third party software that claims to speed up your system and stay well away from Registry Optimisers as they can do more harm than good.

If you think your system is running slowly then post an HJT log and I am sure Flavallee will be happy to help to do a clean up for you. Follow this.

NOTE. For Windows 7 and Vista you must turn off the User Account Control to allow HJT to run correctly.
    For Vista go into Device Manager and type UAC in the search box, open UAC and change the settings. For Windows 7 click on Start and type UAC in the box and hit Enter, then move the slider all the way to the bottom and click on ok.
    Download and install HJT
    When the TrendMicro HJT install box appears, double click on the HJTInstall.exe. Click on Install.