Solved: Drive space question

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bruinator

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
872
I have set up my dual boot system of windows 2000 server and windows 2003 server. I have ran in a bit of a problem though. I need to take 1 gig of space from my 2000 server and give it to my 2003 server. How do I go about doing this, please?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Are they on the same drive? You can resize the partitions. Try Free Paragon Hard Drive Manager 8.0 Special Edition or another partitioner. Install Paragon, create the recovery media, boot from it, and realign your partitions from there.

Partitioning Tools-->

Free:

CloneZilla GParted LiveCD (Complete partitioning and drive imaging/restoration tools)
SystemRescueCD
Gparted LiveCD
Parted Magic
Vista Recovery Disk (Shrink, expand, create, delete partitions)
Free Paragon Hard Drive Manager 8.0 Special Edition
XP Recovery Console CD image (Create and delete partitions with diskpart.exe)
Partition Logic
Ranish Partition Manager
Cute Partition Manager

Shareware:

Paragon Partition Manager
Paragon Hard Disk Manager
Terabyte BootIt NG
Acronis Disk Director
V-Com (Avanquest) Partition Commander
EASEUS Partition Manager
7Tools Partition Manager
Spotmau Partition Genius
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
How are your partitions set uP and where on the drive is each of them?

You should be able to install Paragon into either Windows version. It's possible that you can change the unused partition from Windows, but any overlap of the installations, such as the MBR for one being in the other partition, will block your ability to do that. So you will need to install it and create the recovery CD so that you can do the partitioning with Windows not running. You can try running it from Windows--it will tell you if an operation cannot be completed.
 

bruinator

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
872
Does Paragon create the recovery cd? If so, I assume I will use it to boot to the cd (recovery disk) so windows won't be involved and then use the gui to adjust the partitions. Is this correct?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Yes. You'll find the option when you run Paragon. It will burn the CD for you and you just boot from it.
 

bruinator

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
872
I thought it was free to try, It is looking for a product key which I do not have????
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
The link for the key is right on the download page. It will be emailed to you instantly. It's not just free to try---it's free, period.
 

bruinator

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
872
Stupid question time, do I have to download this software on one of the OS's I plan on adjusting the drive space on? Because right now, I d/l and installed it on a computer I don't want to do anything on. If that is ok, how do I create the recovery cd to use, please?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
If it runs on that machine, it's fine. Start the program and you will see the media builder in one of the left column's menus.

You can also burn the image, if you prefer, located at C:\Program Files\Paragon Software\Hard Disk Manager 8 Special Edition\ISO.
 

bruinator

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
872
Do you mean recovery media builder? If so, then what do I do , please?

or

If I use the burn option, do I burn the bootcd.iso? If this is all I have to do for this option I prefer to do it that way. After burning the bootcd.iso, then what do I need to do, please?
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2008
Messages
820
you need to
1. Go to your BIOS settings to make it boot from the CD drive (your burned CD should be in there before you restart the computer and update the BIOS settings)
2. Then just realign the partitions using Paragon! :D
 

bruinator

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
May 18, 2006
Messages
872
Do you mean recovery media builder? If so, then what do I do , please?

or

If I use the burn option, do I burn the bootcd.iso? If this is all I have to do for this option I prefer to do it that way. After burning the bootcd.iso, then what do I need to do, please?
Can someone please tell me the correct file I need to burn using the software?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top