1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: drivers from orig disks

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mardigrasvet, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    had a bug. advised to just wipe clean with orig windows xp disks. did so, but need some drivers. have disk but only drivers i see for internet access are for aol and some other isp. i use att. should i just run these driviers and any others? will something happen if i load a driver that is not needed?

    i have a 2005 model of dell inspiron 6000. can i go to a site online to get the necessary drivers?

    thanks for your help.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i will move this to hardware forum - press the report button if you need to be moved back for malware removal - BUT if you have reloaded all the software then not a malware issue

    to get all the drivers for your PC goto the dell website and support section here http://support.dell.com/support/downloads/index.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs&~ck=anavml
    now look on your PC for a TAG number and use that to identify the PC - that will provide you with all the drivers available for that PC

    Press the Windows key (bottom left of the keyboard} and at the same time press the R key, now in the search box that appears - type devmgmt.msc
    Now look and see if you have any ? or ! listed - if you do then that is the drivers you need - look under network adapters - these are the devices used for internet access and see if you need drivers ? or X or ! errors

    post back a picture of the device manager
    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  3. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    thanks for moving it to the right forum.

    tried alt + pt scn but nothing happened. anyway, the only items with question marks are these:

    ethernet controller
    multimedia audio controller
    network controller
    pci modem
    video controller
    video controller (vga compatible)

    went to the dell site and inserted my service tag: 1qs9071 and saw lots of drivers. which one is the one for the internet? can i just download it to a memory stick and then run it onto my laptop?

    have a drivers and utilities disk and when i tried to run modem drivers, was told wizard will install bcm v.92 56k and then told X-no compatible hardware found. don't know if this mean anything.

    thanks again.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Yes
    ethernet controller and network controller are two you need for internet - look at the drivers under Network -

    I looked under the 6000 model and saw 1) broadcom LAN 10/100 - a driver and a driver-html, which is the user manual - download to the memory stick the Driver version - this should enable the ethernet connection - which is the Cable connector on your PC
    The wireless seems a little more difficult as you have a choice of two - try them both - if the hardware does not exist - you should get an error message
    The installation instructions are available - clcik on the name of the device listed and you will see a number of TAGS open with installation instructions
    This is the link to broadcom http://support.dell.com/support/dow...dateid=-1&formatid=-1&source=-1&fileid=111674 and see the installation instruction arrow
    download the file onto memory stick - copy to the PC and then double click on the file where ever you saved - the instructions assume the desktop
     
  5. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    thanks so much for the tips. i downloaded all the drivers and installed them and the internet worked immediately. explorer does not start up quickly, in fact it seems to take forever, but i downloaded opera and chrome to take care of my patience. i use a router and my desktop does not have the internet speed problems that the laptop does, but i can live with that.

    if you can think of a reason explorer is so slow--and sometimes the other two but less than explorer--please let me know. if this problem persists i will post something in another area and see what pops up. thanks again.

    tom
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,408
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with a new install of windows you should be OK for startups etc, but if you have not added a virus program - there are free ones available
    Avast
    http://www.avast.com/en-gb/free-antivirus-download - to download the file
    Registration for an annual key
    http://www.avast.com/en-gb/registration-free-antivirus.php

    AntiVir
    http://www.free-av.com/
    http://www.filehippo.com/download_antivir/

    AVG
    http://free.avg.com/gb-en/homepage

    Two other programs to have
    Malwarebytes http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php and superantispyware http://www.superantispyware.com/download.html

    Its quite possible to go online and get a virus straight away, I jave a known a couple of people this happened to after a rebuild, and there where not amused......

    Create a new post in the HJT forum - download HJT see my signature for link to program and post the log and details of what you have done

    You can then mark this solved - button at top of first post - as the driver issue originally posted is completed
     
  7. mardigrasvet

    mardigrasvet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    i downloaded avg as soon as the internet started working. i use magic jack for voip and they took over my computer to get all the usb things updated. everything seems to be working fine now.

    thanks for your time and effort.

    tom
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916188

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice