1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Drop Down fields and secondary field display/selection

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Cooker2k, Mar 16, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cooker2k

Cooker2k Thread Starter

I am making a data entry form in Access 2010 and I am a beginner. One of the fields I am to build has a dropdown (which I have done), but there is a secondary field which should display an outcome based on that drop down.
    As an example: in the dropdown are the choices: assets, volume, credit production.

• When you pick the metric "assets" from the drop down, it should display a field to enter the amount.
    • When you pick "credit production", it should display another dropdown field where the user picks either +1 or -1 and another field called "account number" which is a free form entry field.
    Another example where another field depends on the first drop down choice: Drop Down #1: The drop down choices are: Governance Committee, exception, recovery. Drop Down #2 which explains who approved: There are 4 names and then "governance". If they select "governance committee", it is supposed to auto fill with governance.

Can you help coach me through this?

2. Keebellah

Keebellah Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Hans
    Hi, welcome to the forum.
    How about telling us whcih application? You know, to let peolple guess is not the best way to get the right information :)
    When you mention the application, please include version.

3. Cooker2k

Cooker2k Thread Starter

Oops! Access 2010. I updated my original post.

4. Keebellah

Keebellah Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Hans
    Okay, thakns, I'm sure an Access expert will pick it up. :)

5. OBP

OBP