Solved: Dropped network

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ball_four

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
19
I'm having an issue with my home network I'm hoping someone may be able to help with. My network connection gets dropped from my desktop after long period of inactivity (usually overnight). The interesting part is when my home network is dropped, the wireless devices (laptop, TV, blueray) on the same network still have internet access. I've tried a number of suggestions that I've found online - power management switch, unchecking TCP/IPv6 box, slide scaling but nothing thus far prevents the network from dropping. To re-establish connection I generally have to power down the modem and router and re-start the computer. After the connection has dropped I get a message that says: Windows did not detect a properly installed network adapter. If you have a network adapter, you will need to re-install the driver.

Ive updated the driver for the Comcast Ubee modem. I'm also using a Linksys WRT54G router.

I pulled this from ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Russ-PC
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 78-2B-CB-B7-9C-5E
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Friday, February 08, 2013 7:07:40 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 09, 2013 7:07:44 PM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.75.75.75
75.75.76.76
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.wa.comcast.net.:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.wa.comcast.net.
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,762
After the connection has dropped I get a message that says: Windows did not detect a properly installed network adapter.
I don't understand why you would need to power cycle the modem and/or router. The quoted message plus the need to restart the computer makes me think that the adapter is powered down and not awakened. Check its power management settings to see if there is anything you can do there.

Also, if the PC goes into Hibernation/Sleep/Standby it may be the bug that the adapter and router do not properly communicate after the PC awakens. Sometimes an ethernet driver update will fix this, but often a different adapter is needed; else disconnect before the Hibernation/Sleep/Standby.

Ive updated the driver for the Comcast Ubee modem.
?? For a USB connection? You're not using that, right?
 

ball_four

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
19
Last night I ran the PC in Safe Mode with Networking and it didn't drop the connection....It also didn't hibernate so you may be on to something.

I will double check the power management settings.

I have gone to Device Manager: Network Adapters and there is a drop down that says Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet. There is a driver tab there that I have updated and it says the most current driver is already installed.

The comcast modem is not connected by USB.

If it is a bad adapter, is that something a novice can replace?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,762
Make sure you have the latest ethernet driver from the PC (or motherboard) manufacturer's web site.

If the ethernet adapter is a PCI card it is pretty easy to replace. More likely it is integrated with the motherboard; in this case just disable it (in the BIOS or in Network Connections) and add a PCI or USB adapter.
 

ball_four

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
19
Good call on the ethernet driver - there was a driver on the manufacturers website which I downloaded and installed. We'll see what happens when it hibernates again.
 

ball_four

Thread Starter
Joined
May 17, 2008
Messages
19
Looks like that was it...it's hibernated several times and hasn't dropped. thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top