1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Dual Boot (Question)

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by zaki1990, Jul 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. zaki1990

    zaki1990 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    24
  2. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    If you have partitioning software, the easiest way would probably be to hide the Vista partition and save all your boot files from the XP root. Install XP, restore the root files, and unhide Vista.
     
  3. zaki1990

    zaki1990 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    That's a little to complex for me can any 1 else be a little more specific please.
     
  4. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,616
    Or you can just copy the boot.ini and just reinstate the boot.ini after the reinstall.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      89.2 KB
      Views:
      78
  5. zaki1990

    zaki1990 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Thanks a lot I'm gonna give it a try and see how it goes
     
  6. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    The problem is that the operating systems are supposed to be installed in the order of older to newer so that the newer can detect the older and add it to the boot menu.

    XP will not recognize Vista since it came out earlier. So, it will not set up a dual boot menu. Vista has control of the boot process now since it was installed last, so saving the boot.ini will not be enough. If you reinstall XP without hiding Vista or making some other arrangements to save the boot sector, XP will boot but you will lose access to Vista (though running a startup repair from the Vista DVD may restore it).
     
  7. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,616
    As I see it he had XP on board (Older) and then installed Vista (Newer) so the option I suggested will work. I have done this and it works.
     
  8. zaki1990

    zaki1990 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Ok so i did what u said Lance1 but after reboot it went directly into xp. So i had to insert the Vista DVD and repair and after reboot once again it worked.

    Thx for you're help Lance1 and Elvandil.
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Great. That Vista repair really seems to work for some people. It just needs to take charge of the boot process again.

    You can mark your threads "solved" using the Thread Tools above.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/595788

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice