Solved: dvd-rom hell

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

hangman75200

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
22
i picked up a used dvd-rom, installed it , and cussed it.
my comp picked it up and installed the drivers for it fine.
hardware manager says it works fine, but it wont read any disks.
keep getting please insert disk. i dont know the name of the drive,
but model # is dm166d.
i never used dvd-rom before any help would a great thing.

by the way im running winxp home if thats maters.
866mhz proc.
448 mb ram
on a-open machine.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
How did you set up the jumpers on the back of the drive?

If the drive is the only drive on the IDe cable then set the jumper to MASTER. If there are two drives on the same IDE cable then one drive needs to be set as Master and the other as Slave.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Is the burner set to master?

Try the DVD player all by itself on the cable. Does it not read DVD's or not even CD's?

Also go into the BIOS setup and make sure the drive is detected, I mean the IDE Slave device is not to set to NONE - I've seen it set to none an yet the drive can still function so its wiorth a check.
 

hangman75200

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
22
dont work by its self either yes it is in bois. no it wont read any disks ,ive tried
every disk i have .dvd, cd-r ,cd ,every thing.

can the laser (eye, needle, or what ever it is ) go out?
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
You said you picked it up used. Do you know if it even worked?
 

hangman75200

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
22
nope thats why im here to see if maybe im doing somthing wrong or if it is a piece of s**t. probably need to through it away and buy a new one but i though it would be worth a try.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Well, at the price of a new one, I wouldn't waste too much time with it. If it won't read any disks, it's probably a goner. Hopefully when you said you picked it up, you really meant that. Hope you didn't pay anything for it.
 

hangman75200

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 26, 2005
Messages
22
well i guess that solves it time to get new one. thank all of you very much.
and no i didnt pay for it. in a box of stuff i traded for.
thanks again!!!!!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top