1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: DVI monitor recognised but not working. Is it the card?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by YourDirector, Jan 23, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. YourDirector

    YourDirector Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Hey everyone,

    I've just built a new computer and fitted it with a lovely Nvidia Palit Geforce GTX 450 video card (ebuyer page).
    It sports two DVI ports, 1x HDMI and a VGA. I've got my main monitor plugged into the VGA for now but when I plug any monitor into either of the DVI ports, although it registers on the computer that the second screen is there, the monitor displays nothing. Any ideas why this could be?

    Thanks

    Josh
     
  2. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,188
    This is from memory since I do not use multi monitors with nvidia.

    Did you try to set the SLI mode to Multiple-Display Mode?!
    You need to disable the Single-Display Performance mode to enable the both DVI-Outs at a time.
    This can be done in the 3D Settings somewhere in the NV-Tool
     
  3. YourDirector

    YourDirector Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I've checked in the Nvidia c/p and its set up for multiple displays. If i connect it via the HDMI it displays but am getting the seemingly common problem of severe ghosting and inferior quality if i do so.
     
  4. YourDirector

    YourDirector Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    I just restarted my system to see if it would by chance decide to work and on the windows loading screen it did infact display perfectly but as soon as windows loaded the second screen displayed "no signal". any ideas?
     
  5. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    39,188
    As I said, I do not use multi displays with nvidia. I know you must enable it in the nvidia control panel. I do use the multi display with ati and that is very easy; just basically connect and you are done.
     
  6. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    If I remember correctly, you can't use both VGA & DVI at same time
    It is either VGA as single monitor or DVI as dual monitors but after connecting a dvi as secondary monitor, you do need to reboot to get it detected
     
  7. YourDirector

    YourDirector Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Well i've just attached the main monitor as a DVI as well now. Still no difference, main monitor loads and displays perfectly, secondary is still recognised but "no signal" is displayed on it.
     
  8. YourDirector

    YourDirector Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    An interesting development. I tried switching over the DVI ports the two monitors where plugged into and it seems to have switched it. The monitor that was not working before is now working and vice versa. However, one I restarted after making that change, although the screen loaded (The one that was originally not working), and I could see and move the mouse, nothing else loaded and the other monitor didnt work.

    Next I tried just plugging in one monitor (the one that i originally had set up as secondary) and it works fine as a solo monitor. This is when it is plugged in-to the upper DVI port.

    Is it likely that there is an issue with the lower DVI port on my v-card and thats whats causing these problems?
     
  9. YourDirector

    YourDirector Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    PROBLEM SOLVED!!

    I have a feeling it is an issue with the lower DVI port but I have now got my main monitor plugged into the VGA and the secondary plugged into the upper DVI port and all is working fine in perfect quality.

    Thanks for all your help anyway peeps.
     
  10. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    56,236
    First Name:
    Derek
    does any monitor work when just one monitor is plugged in to lower dvi port
    that would tell you if the port itself is faulty or not
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/976412

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice