1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: edit text in corel Draw 12

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by donatbollonk, Apr 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. donatbollonk

    donatbollonk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Hi All,


    I have urgent assignment to edit some letters in file made by Corel Draw 12.
    I can not edit it from edit text on menu bar. I think the text has been transferred to curve or whatever it is.

    Can anyone suggest methods so that I can edit the text again?
    Thanks.
     
  2. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,349
    Hi. If it has been converted to curves, i don't think it is possible to edit it.
    How much text are we talking about?
     
  3. jimr381

    jimr381

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,175
    If it is converted into curves then it is a graphic and not text anymore.
     
  4. Ziggy1

    Ziggy1

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    2,532
    the way I do it ( I use Corel 9) , Retype the word and hi-lite the text ( you typed),, position it so you can see the original....then scroll through the list until you find the matching font.

    Corel Draw displays your word in each font you select...I do this all the time as I help my dad edit and create graphics for logos

    then resize and fit over the existing and replace it
     
  5. donatbollonk

    donatbollonk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    up to 50 words with spelling mistakes.


     
  6. donatbollonk

    donatbollonk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    yes, it has been converted.
    do you know how to edit?


     
  7. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,349
    If it is only 50 words, it is going to be quicker to retype.
    If it were lots and lots of words, you could try exporting the file as a picture file (jpg, tiff) and then running it through an ocr programme.
    The fact is, what you currently have is not text . . . it is just a picture and it can't be edited.
     
  8. donatbollonk

    donatbollonk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    170
    Thank you.
    that is what we are doing now. Export to photoshop first.

     
  9. caraewilton

    caraewilton

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,349
    I assume you want to try the ocr thing. Why export to photoshop first? Just press ctrl e and then export it directly from corel draw to what ever bitmat format your ocr uses.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/700254