[SOLVED] Emergency: "waol"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

esq2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
80
Good morning;
It seems that everytime I try to connect to my aol I am getting a windows error message: "waol" under details it says module unknown. When I close this message I get another one saying "loadqm" under details it says; invalid page fault in module ws2_32.dll at 018f:76003078.
sometimes it will let me connect but as soon as I try to surf the Waol pops up and it will let me go no further.
I am on another computer in the house just so I can contact you guys.
please help.
 

esq2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
80
ok thanks. I will try all suggestions including adware and post back within the hour.
 

esq2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
80
ok. tried everything suggested and still no luck.
still getting waol and loadqm.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2001
Messages
7,486
loadqm is not necessary. IF you uncheck it in Msconfig Startup
It should stop that error. Loadqm is a tool used by MSN Messenger to find whether or not your contacts are on line. I have mine unchecked and have no problem seeing my contacts.
 

esq2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
80
I will follow instructions in the article first. If that doesn't work I will copy and paste information here. I am jumping back and forth between computers because I cannot reach the internet on the one with the waol message. thanks. be back soon.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
If all else fails.

1. Click START on the TASKBAR.
2 Choose SETTINGS and choose CONTROL PANEL.
3. Double-click the NETWORK icon.
4. Under the CONFIGURATION tab, highlight AOL adapter.
5. Click the REMOVE button.
6. Click OK to close Control Panels window.
7. Select YES when asked to restart the computer.
8. The next time AOL is launched, a new AOL adapter will be created.
 

esq2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
80
I have tried all of the above and still no luck. for some strange reason I even tried to uninstal 98 but that didn't even work because my scandisk kept restarting.:confused:
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Hi,

Forgive me if this was already suggested, but did you try removing, then re-adding Dial-Up Networking?
Also, have you removed, then re-installed any AOL software?

I know these suggestions are obvious, but they seem strongly related to your problem.

Good Luck :cool:
 

esq2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
80
removed all aol software. re-installed 6.0.
how do i remove dial network and re-instal it properly.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2001
Messages
3,178
Hi,

Go into your Control Panel, then open up Add/Remove Programs. Then click on the Windows Setup tab, and under Communications, there should be an entry that says Dial-up Networking, with a checkmark beside it. Click to remove the checkmark, then click OK. Once it finishes removing, restart your computer, then go back in and re-add the checkmark.

Hope it helps.:)
 

esq2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
80
Thanks. I don't remember if I did that or not so I will go and try it. If anyone would like to add to the suggestion box. please feel free.
thanks
be back later.
 

esq2000

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 25, 2001
Messages
80
ok I tried everything suggested and still no luck. I connect but as soon as I try to surf I still get the "waol" box and my connection freezes.
I even tried to uninstal 98 but it ask to scandisk first, I click yes and scan disk never completes the task.
now I am going nuts. can anyone help?
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2001
Messages
3,208
Have you cleared your cache?

One of the most common problems for AOL users is their screen freezes. Often you can unstick your computer on AOL by clicking the following buttons.

TRIANGLE <-- Click the little blue triangle in the top left of the AOL screen

HELP <--Click (Top center of the AOL screen)

ABOUT AOL <-- Click (This often unsticks the screen)

You don't need AOL graphics files taking up space - this lets you delete them


MEMBERS <---AOL30 Users click (AOL40 Users click MY AOL)

PREFERENCES <---Click

GRAPHICS <---Click

1 Meg <---Change Maximum Disk Space to 1 Meg

OK <---Click

RESTART AOL TO FORCE IT TO PURGE THE MEMORY (cleans graphics cache)

MEMBERS <---AOL30 Users Click (AOL40 Users click MY AOL)

PREFERENCES <---Click

GRAPHICS <---Click

20 Meg <---Change Maximum Disk Space back 20 Megs

Occasionally, one or two files won't allow themselves to be deleted (that's ok) just skip that file and delete the rest. Note, while deleting these files is something that many people do every week, I cannot guarantee that you won't make a mistake. So please. Read carefully... And if you are unsure.. . Don't do it......

NOTE: DON'T DELETE FOLDERS... Only Delete FILES.....


START <---Click

PROGRAMS <---Click

WINDOWS EXPLORER <---Click
A New screen comes up...
The Left Side is Major Folders and Drives
The Rights Side is what inside the Folder/Drive that is highlighted on the right side

Windows <---- Scroll down the Left side scroll down and Double click on Windows

History <---Scroll down the right side and Double Click on the History file
On the right side on the screen the history files appear

Place the cursor on the first file on the right side (It should become highlighted)

Hold down the SHIFT KEY

Scroll down the RIGHT SIDE to the last file. Put the cursor on it

Let go of the cursor

All the files on the RIGHT SIDE should now be highlighted

DELETE <----Click

All the files in the History Folder should now delete (may take a minute or two)

That's it. You just deleted a bunch of junk in the History Folder
Note: Some folders and files may say something like access denied or this is a program, etc., simply leave them where they are (Hey, they ain't hurtin nobody) and delete the rest of the files one at a time

DELETE FILES IN YOUR TEMP FOLDER
To delete TEMP files, repeat the process above, but instead of HISTORY, substitute the word TEMP (Instead of History)

DELETE FILES IN YOUR TEMPORARY INTERNET FOLDER
Finally, repeat the process a third time, this time to remove the TEMPORARY INTERNET files, simply go through the steps again, this time substituting TEMPORARY INTERNET for History.

If none of that works then click on the msconfig next to my name and go through your start up and uncheck what you dont need. Post back what you are unsure of.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top