Solved: Epson scan has stopped working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

geno2552

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
5
I know this is an old one, and I've read many fixes that don't really work and don't apply to my setup. I have a one month old Dell 17R laptop with windows 7 and also a one month old Epson NX625 wireless printer. Everything works fine except for the scan function. I just tried to use it for the first time a few days ago and I get the message "Epson scan has stopped working". I have loaded and reloaded the printer/scanner/drivers both as a search and with the supplied disc at least 6 times each way. It just won't work even though everything appears to be loaded with all the latest drivers. Can anyone help me????


Thanks
Geno
 

geno2552

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
5
Thanks for the effort Leroy, but I've been there a couple of times and loaded the drivers. Just for drill I just tried it again and still the same problem! My wife just fired up her MAC from the other room and was able to scan it!!!!!! No loading drivers or anything, just a wireless search, recognized the printer and then loaded it and scanned it!!!!! This is goofy!
 

geno2552

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
5
I have Norton Internet Security on my system and I have tried scanning with it completely off and also with just the Norton firewall turned off to no avail. Is there another firewall I'm not aware of? My tech skills are not all that great so sorry if that's a dumb question.

Geno
 

leroys1000

Banned
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
6,319
Might check start/control panel/windows firewall.
It might very well be norton,even with it off.
Norton can be a pain.
 

geno2552

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
5
Thanks again Leroy, but that's not it either. It says windows firewall is turned off then something to mthe effect that with Norton insttalled they take off firewalls. But it definately says windows firewal is off. As an interesting side note, I'm at my office and am able to scan on a Cannon printer that is here. I just but my computer in search and loaded the printer and print and scan both work fine. ????

Geno
 

leroys1000

Banned
Joined
Aug 15, 2007
Messages
6,319
Try going to start/devices and printers.
Right click the printer and click troubleshoot.
Go through the troubleshooter and see if it helps solve the problem.
You can also try running a scan from the right click menu and see
if it generates any errors.
 

geno2552

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 20, 2010
Messages
5
Leroy, thanks for all your efforts and concern. My scanner is now fixed! I received the following instructions from Epsom support. While it seems odd to me that this procedure would be necessary on a new install it did work for me. Hopefully if anyone else has this problem they might search and see this fix, it definately fixed mine.
Thanks again.

1. Turn off the printer.
2. Uninstall Epson Scan.
3. Restart your computer.
4. Open Windows Explorer (right-click the Start button, then select Explore or Open Windows Explorer).
5. Navigate to C:\Windows.
6. Locate the twain_32 folder and rename it to a different name such as twain_32_old.
7. Restart your computer.
8. Reinstall Epson Scan.

 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top