Solved: Error 404 with 1 web site, others ok

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ron40

Ron
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
319
I am running win 7 32bit with Firefox 18 & I use Roboform to logon to all my sensitive sites. I have about 15 sites which I have no problems logging onto but 1 of them, "TIAA-CREF," will not allow me to access it at all. I get the following message (below) as soon as I enter my username & password. I used to be able to logon after after multiple tries but now it is completely unavailable to me. I have a laptop which is synced to this pc, through Firefox & I have the same prob with it. I tried my wife's new Ipad just to see if it would let me logon & had no problem. BTW: I have the same problem with IE8 when I try to login with that so I don't think it is Firefox. I have researched this problem before posting here & have run Malawarebytes, flushed my dns & checked out my hosts file but nothing helps. BTW: I don't think the problem is Roboform because I get the same results with manual entry of password & username. This is driving me crazy. Please help.

Error 404--Not Found
From RFC 2068 Hypertext Transfer Protocol -- HTTP/1.1:
10.4.5 404 Not Found

The server has not found anything matching the Request-URI. No indication is given of whether the condition is temporary or permanent.

If the server does not wish to make this information available to the client, the status code 403 (Forbidden) can be used instead. The 410 (Gone) status code SHOULD be used if the server knows, through some internally configurable mechanism, that an old resource is permanently unavailable and has no forwarding address.
 

ron40

Ron
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
319
I have not received a reply since I posted this on 1/25. I am going to mark it as solved & repost it in another forum
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
Make sure you're not connecting to that website through a proxy server:

Open Internet Explorer. Click Tools > Internet Options > Connections > Lan settings > Proxy server > Advanced > delete proxy server settings > click OK > uncheck all boxes > click OK.

In Firefox, click Tools > Options... > Advanced > Network > Settings > delete proxy settings > select No proxy > click OK.
 

ron40

Ron
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
319
Hi Phantom:
Thanks for replying. No Proxy is already selected.
 

ron40

Ron
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
319
I ran it in safe mode & I still get the error.
BTW: I tried to do system restore 10 minutes ago. I made restore points 2 weeks ago but the oldest points that appear are from 31 Jan.
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
You're welcome and good luck.

If they can't help, come back and maybe someone else will have better ideas than mine. But, do give us feedback anyway. I'm curious. :)
 

ron40

Ron
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
319
HI Phantom:
Problem solved. I spoke to a TIAA-CREF support spec & he said they made recent changes to their software. Logon attempts coming from "favorites"type sources are not executed but instead are redirected to a "null" site. I use Roboform & like it very much but I guess TIAA-CREF wants you to do it manually. Copying & pasting works, fortunately. Have you ever heard of this? I wonder if RF can do a workaround? If other sites start doing this too it can become a pain. Does it really increase security?
 

Phantom010

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
34,796
Unfortunately, you can't do much about it. Website owners do whatever it takes to improve security for their sites and members.
 

ron40

Ron
Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 6, 2004
Messages
319
Oh well, at least it wasn't an infection.
Case closed. Thanks a bunch, Phantom.

Ron
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top