Solved: Error 797 when trying to set up wired connection in Windows 7

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Akril

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
204
I'm trying to set up a wired connection with my brand new Dell XPS 8700 PC (running Windows 7 SP1). I was able to set up a wireless connection just fine, but I want to use a wired connection.

Unfortunately, I've been completely unsuccessful in doing this. For a while, I would always encounter a message saying "Error 651" when I tried setting up the connection, but now I'm constantly getting "Error 797".

I called my ISP, and the tech I talked to speculated that there might be a problem with the port I was using and advised me to call Dell. However, the Dell tech I talked to said it was most likely a driver problem.

I've tried:
-Replacing raspppoe.sys
-Turning off Windows auto-tuning
-Uninstalling the network driver and restarting
-Running System Restore
-Downloading and installing a new network driver
-Disabling TCP/IPv6

So far, nothing's helped, and I feel like I'm running out of options here (not to mention, feeling completely out of my depth). If anyone here can give me any advice, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

Sysinfo:
Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
Processor Count: 8
RAM: 8127 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 720, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 939866 MB, Free - 446826 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0KWVT8
Antivirus: McAfee Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware, Updated and Enabled
(Also, my computer connects to a Netgear CG3000D router, which then connects to an Arris TM602G modem. I used this same setup to establish a wired connection on my old computer (a Gateway DX200X running Windows XP SP3), so I doubt there's any problem with that hardware.)
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
with the PC connected by cable to the router
would you post an ipconfig /all please

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

For Windows 8
To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
Hold the Windows key and press R

Now type CMD

Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Akril

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
204
Thank you for replying, etaf.

I followed your instructions, and this is the result I got:
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : MININT-44AOG3A
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B2-48-9A-8B-98-5B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-3C-7F-F0-F0-0A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1703 802.11b/g/n (2.4GHz)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-48-9A-8B-98-5B
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::29d8:8d85:d7fa:b58e%11(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 6:14:28 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 7:14:28 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 227559578
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-1B-88-93-50-34-17-EB-AF-D8-DB
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.105.28.12
68.105.29.12
68.105.28.11
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 34-17-EB-AF-D8-DB
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.6(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 6:16:57 AM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 7:16:57 AM
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.105.28.12
68.105.29.12
68.105.28.11
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Tunnel adapter isatap.{FCEEC271-4CF0-4DB2-8416-613FD354A583}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter isatap.{141EDBF9-1CB2-4BF5-9F45-D7D2CA1289F4}:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:9d38:90d7:200d:1c0c:b946:4d4a(Preferred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::200d:1c0c:b946:4d4a%15(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
looks like you have a good ip address for the LAN connection
so you should not need to do anything to setup - it looks like its all setup

if you turn off the wireless connection - should be able to do that from the wireless icon and just disconnect from the wireless signal- make sure the PC does not automatically re-connect

and just use the pc connected to with the LAN cable
what happens
do you get internet access ?
 

Akril

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
204
I've tried that multiple times, but I still get Error 797.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,487
what are you doing to get the error code
can you go through the steps

you connect the cable to LAN
you do not have wireless connected

you open a browser chrome/firefox/internet explorer

at what point do you see the error ?

Are you setting anything up - the error appears to be associated with setting up a modem
OR
you have a hardware failure on the network adapter
 

Akril

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 1, 2007
Messages
204
Well, I'm feeling pretty stupid right now.

It looks like I had a working wired connection all along -- I was always going into Network Settings and attempting to set up a new connection (which was what made the Error 797 window appear); I never actually tried connecting to Firefox with the wireless connection disabled.

I've been trying to set up a new VM in VirtualBox, and for some reason, I couldn't get an Internet connection on it. This is one reason why I thought there might be something wrong with my connection (along with occasionally seeing an exclamation mark in a yellow triangle appearing next to the Miniport Adapter in Device Manager).

This all just goes to show how inexperienced I am with setting up a wired connection in Windows 7. Thank you again for your help, etaf!

EDIT: And the Dell tech I talked to said that it would cost $150 for him to help fix this "problem"...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top