1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Error 797 when trying to set up wired connection in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Akril, Mar 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Akril

    Akril Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204
    I'm trying to set up a wired connection with my brand new Dell XPS 8700 PC (running Windows 7 SP1). I was able to set up a wireless connection just fine, but I want to use a wired connection.

    Unfortunately, I've been completely unsuccessful in doing this. For a while, I would always encounter a message saying "Error 651" when I tried setting up the connection, but now I'm constantly getting "Error 797".

    I called my ISP, and the tech I talked to speculated that there might be a problem with the port I was using and advised me to call Dell. However, the Dell tech I talked to said it was most likely a driver problem.

    I've tried:
    -Replacing raspppoe.sys
    -Turning off Windows auto-tuning
    -Uninstalling the network driver and restarting
    -Running System Restore
    -Downloading and installing a new network driver
    -Disabling TCP/IPv6

    So far, nothing's helped, and I feel like I'm running out of options here (not to mention, feeling completely out of my depth). If anyone here can give me any advice, I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks in advance!

    Sysinfo:
    (Also, my computer connects to a Netgear CG3000D router, which then connects to an Arris TM602G modem. I used this same setup to establish a wired connection on my old computer (a Gateway DX200X running Windows XP SP3), so I doubt there's any problem with that hardware.)
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    with the PC connected by cable to the router
    would you post an ipconfig /all please

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Akril

    Akril Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204
    Thank you for replying, etaf.

    I followed your instructions, and this is the result I got:
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    looks like you have a good ip address for the LAN connection
    so you should not need to do anything to setup - it looks like its all setup

    if you turn off the wireless connection - should be able to do that from the wireless icon and just disconnect from the wireless signal- make sure the PC does not automatically re-connect

    and just use the pc connected to with the LAN cable
    what happens
    do you get internet access ?
     
  5. Akril

    Akril Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204
    I've tried that multiple times, but I still get Error 797.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what are you doing to get the error code
    can you go through the steps

    you connect the cable to LAN
    you do not have wireless connected

    you open a browser chrome/firefox/internet explorer

    at what point do you see the error ?

    Are you setting anything up - the error appears to be associated with setting up a modem
    OR
    you have a hardware failure on the network adapter
     
  7. Akril

    Akril Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    204
    Well, I'm feeling pretty stupid right now.

    It looks like I had a working wired connection all along -- I was always going into Network Settings and attempting to set up a new connection (which was what made the Error 797 window appear); I never actually tried connecting to Firefox with the wireless connection disabled.

    I've been trying to set up a new VM in VirtualBox, and for some reason, I couldn't get an Internet connection on it. This is one reason why I thought there might be something wrong with my connection (along with occasionally seeing an exclamation mark in a yellow triangle appearing next to the Miniport Adapter in Device Manager).

    This all just goes to show how inexperienced I am with setting up a wired connection in Windows 7. Thank you again for your help, etaf!

    EDIT: And the Dell tech I talked to said that it would cost $150 for him to help fix this "problem"...
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,371
    First Name:
    Wayne
    your welcome
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144132

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice