Solved: Error accessing the OLE registry

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pickles

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
8
I am trying to load a test bank to study from...the exam is Monday! I got this message when I tried to install the file

The following files did not self-register or unregister
C:WINDOWS\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash.ocx
Error accessing the OLE registry

I continued with the install but was unable to use the main menu of the disc.
I have uninstalled.

I used a previous test bank and did not uninstall it. I no longer have the disk and cannot uninstall that file without the disk. Is there someway I can get this new file to load?
 

pickles

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
8
...do I need to do something besides follow the Install Wizard prompts?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
See if the file exists at C:WINDOWS\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash.ocx. If it does, try manual registration from the Run box:

regsvr32 -u C:WINDOWS\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash.ocx
regsvr32 C:WINDOWS\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash.ocx
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Flash is not Macromedia any more. It's Adobe. So if you have the Adobe version installed, and the installer for whatever you are trying to install gives you the option of skipping the Flash installation, skip it.

Otherwise, look through Add/Remove under both Macromedia and Adobe and uninstall any instances of Flash. Then go to Adobe and install the latest versions.
 

WhitPhil

Gone but never forgotten
Trusted Advisor
Joined
Oct 4, 2000
Messages
8,684
Flash.ocx belongs to version 6, I think.
Version 9's file under \System32\Macromed\Flash is called Flash9d.ocx
 

pickles

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 26, 2007
Messages
8
Elvandil, Thankyou so much! It finally occured to me that I needed to restart my computer after downloading the new Flash! Everything is working now!! I am studying for the Architects Licensing Exam and you have just saved me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Great. You probably had a browser window open during installation.

You can mark your own threads "solved" using the Thread Tools above.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top