Solved: Error after installing windows xp

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

cherbrig

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
26
I installed windows xp on a new hard drive...Now when I turn the computer on I get an error...A DISK READ ERROR OCCURED press CLT+ALT+DEL to restart...when i press CLT+ALT+DEL the computer will restart but I keep getting the same error...and windows won't start


Cheryl
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
611
Is this a legite, full copy of Windows XP?

Also, did you format any preexisting partitions, and create or merge a new partition?

Try inserting the Windows CD and selecting Repair.
 

cherbrig

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
26
Yes it is a legite full version of Windows XP Home Edition...The Windows XP CD formatted the partition, before it installed the windows program..Getting ready to try and repair from the CD...
 

cherbrig

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
26
Repairing was unsuccessful...I've received a few suggestions, like going into the Bios and activate "Load Fail-Safe Default", Disabling IDE bus Master, Repartition to FAT32...But am afraid to try them if fear that I will mess computer up more than I already have...I see that you are a senior member...Any suggestions...I think that the problem might just lie somewhere in the Bios...But that area I have no experience in what so ever...
 
Joined
Jan 9, 2007
Messages
611
So you think there is an error with the Bios?

Reset you BIOS to default settings.

Try this, and let me know what happens.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
3,775
Or you can just go into BIOS on startup and reset to defaults. Same result without opening the case.
 

cherbrig

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
26
First let me say thank you for all of your input it is great appreciated...
Couldn't reset Bios to default...I was able to get to the Bios menu but I couldn't navigate around in it... It was like my keyboard was frozen...But I was able to use the F1 key to get the settings...

Now I am getting a "No Operating System found"... Could this be because I installed the hard drive in another computer as a slave...there deleted the partitions, created them and installed Windows XP?...The Windows XP program was installed and I was able to use it...But now when I install it in the computer I've been working on I get the above error.
 
Joined
Jul 14, 2006
Messages
3,775
cherbrig said:
Now I am getting a "No Operating System found"... Could this be because I installed the hard drive in another computer as a slave...there deleted the partitions, created them and installed Windows XP?...The Windows XP program was installed and I was able to use it...But now when I install it in the computer I've been working on I get the above error.
Yes. The boot files, NTLDR, NTDETECT.COM, BOOT.INI are always placed on the boot drive. Since your installation was on a slave drive, the boot files didn't get written to it.
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
739
You always have to install the system on the machine you're gonna use it on.
Installing it on another machine and then transfering the HD will fail.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top