[Solved] Error Loading DLL

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dcortez

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 1999
Messages
10
when I install or reinstall software I get these messages:

failed to launch installation engine ... error loading type library/dll

or

run time error "48" error loading dll


Do I need to reinstall windows 98 SE to solve this problem? How can I find the missing/corrupt file?

If I run system file finder, it doesnt find any problems.
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2001
Messages
167
Is your hard drive getting full? That might cause this error. If that is not it, I cannot help, but perhaps some other smart person on this forum knows the answer to that. :)
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

Look well! Most of the time the name of the dll is mentioned somewhere. That would help immensely.

Does it happen at everything you install?

Greetz,
 

dcortez

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 1999
Messages
10
Nope, it just says cant load dll, wont say which one! It happens when I install driver for sandisk card reader(sandisk support says they can't help me!), Stock Investor software, Dell Resource Diagnosis CD, and others. Dont think it happens for all new installations but enough to drive me crazy. Im about to re-install win98SE but hate to take that risk.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
I've found a number of instances where it was reported that installing <A HREF="http://www.microsoft.com/com/dcom/dcom98/download.asp">Microsoft DCOM98 for Windows 98</A> could well solve this problem.

Here's one: http://feedback.interplay.com/mdk2/msg1/851.html

I advise you to try that. I've got a hunch it might just do the trick.

Good luck, Tony
 

dcortez

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 19, 1999
Messages
10
Tony .. you're a genius.The DCOM software solved the problem. I can now install the software that was not working. Not sure what DCOM is but it ended several hours of searching. I was about to reinstall windows .. glad I avoided that. :)
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hey!

I'm glad it worked. :)
This error was a first for me too.

But I must say that these days there are a number of 'new' errors popping up that seem to be remedied by installing DCOM.

Cheers,
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top