1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Error message about eDSloader

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by pixiedust09, Feb 4, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pixiedust09

    pixiedust09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Every time i turn on my computer, an error message pops up saying that eDSloader had to close unexpectedly. I don't know why or how it happened, but it's been happening for the past week and because of that my AIM isn't working either. Could you please tell me what's wrong? Thanx.
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    Hi and welcome :)

    Do you have an Acer by any chance?
     
  3. pixiedust09

    pixiedust09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    yea, i have an acer. Do you know what's wrong?
     
  4. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    That error is related to eDataSecurity Loader from Acer Empowering Technology.
    Go to Start>RUN
    Type in msconfig
    Click OK
    Go to the Startup tab
    Find an entry for eDSloader.exe, usually located in C:\Acer\Empowering Technology\eDataSecurity
    Uncheck that item
    Click Apply, OK
    Reboot
    See if it still comes up
     
  5. pixiedust09

    pixiedust09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    i did what you told me to do, but after i restarted my computer, a message popped up saying that i should change it back to normal startup. what should i do? But the eDSloader error message doesn't pop up anymore. :)
     
  6. LitomoSilver

    LitomoSilver

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,477
    Ignore the popup.
     
  7. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    It will show you are in Selective Startup now. That's normal to happen.
    Just click on the box to not be reminded anymore.
     
  8. pixiedust09

    pixiedust09 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Thank you for all your help. It worked! Thanx again :)
     
  9. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved Error message
  1. thp83
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    295
  2. ehbowen
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    612
  3. Cvenegas8
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    495
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/541282

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice