1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Error message-Outlook could not create the work file.

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by BingoBear, Sep 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BingoBear

    BingoBear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    :confused: Today every time I open up Outlook and word I get an error message saying "Outlook could not create the work file. Check the temp environment variable." I Googled the error message and people were saying that I should clean out my temp file in C:\Documents and Settings\MyPC\Local Settings\Temp which I have done and the problem still remains. Has anyone any ideas on how to fix this. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    After you cleared temp files, have you rebooted your computer? If not, do so.
     
  3. BingoBear

    BingoBear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    OK will do now, and will report back.
     
  4. BingoBear

    BingoBear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Still have the same problem :(
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Do you have more than one hard drive? If so, is Outlook installed on the boot drive?
     
  6. BingoBear

    BingoBear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    I have 2 internal HD, my primary is a 320gb and slave is 500gb. All of my programs inc Microsoft Office are on the primary C drive.
     
  7. BingoBear

    BingoBear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    P.S It boots from C: Drive 320gb (primary)
     
  8. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,003
    Hi BingoBear

    These links point to a Registry setting:
    http://www.tech-archive.net/Archive/Outlook/microsoft.public.outlook/2008-03/msg00995.html
    http://blogs.msdn.com/powlo/archive...r-outlook-could-not-create-the-work-file.aspx
    http://www.brianmadden.com/Forum/Topic/93795

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders\cache

    Create a System Restore point before making changes to the Registry and Export the key to the Desktop.

    Check the permissions on the key, as well.
    Edit > Permissions
    Do you have Full Control?
     
  9. BingoBear

    BingoBear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Thanks for ur help I'll try it now and yes I do have admin access.
     
  10. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,003
    In the Permissions it will say Full Control not admin access.
     
  11. BingoBear

    BingoBear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Where do I find permissions?
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    See post #8
     
  13. BingoBear

    BingoBear Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    :confused: Now I'm totally lost ..... See post #8???........ Permissions???....... Export the key to the Desktop??????.......... What do these things mean....... Help !!
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Go to the start button, in the box there, type regedit, then press enter.

    Now, look for this entry:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\User Shell Folders\cache


    When you find that entry,
    Check the permissions by doing this:

    Go to Edit at the top of the page, then go to Permissions
    Do you see that you have Full Control? That box should have a checkmark in it.
     
  15. EAFiedler

    EAFiedler Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    14,003
    :)

    ...and in the right hand pane you should see the string entry: cache
    double click that entry and copy the contents for Value data: and post it here.

    Mine shows this:
    %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/746548