Solved: Error Message When Right-Clicking D and E Drives

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Leen223

Hi,

This is my first time here but boy do I need help! When I right click Play or double-click my D and/or E drives after inserting a cd or dvd, I get the message "This file does not have a program associated with it for performing this action. Create an association in the Folder Options control panel." I have tried several things already including running a thorough cleaning, fixes recommended on the Web including one here and NOTHING works. I cannot burn cds either. Hope someone can help me. I am pretty savvy at following the instructions, even if it includes going into the registry. Thanks for any help you can give me.

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Firstly
Click Start
Right click My Computer
Click Properties
Click Hardware Tab
Click Device Manager
Open + sign on DVD/CD drives
check NO warning signs etc.
What Player are you using and which burning software

Leen223

I am using Windows Media Player to play and burn (latest version) and there are no errors indicated in device manager. Thanks for the info. Any more ideas?

Leen223

Thanks for the link. I tried it per the instructions and no dice. Any other ideas?

Leen223

Hi Macboat,

Thanks again for the help. I agree about too much tweaking and have tried to avoid that. I tend to take the advise of experts like yourself and am able to follow the steps very well. I have straightened out some nasty bugs in the past but this has me stumped. Any others suggestions are truly welcomed.

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
What Fixes have you tried please from the Web.
When did the problem start.
Have you installed any programme immediately before it started.
Especially as per my post notes