Solved: Ethernet over powerline...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

techboy102

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
26
Hi,
My digital cable and internet provider uses an Ethernet line to carry both into my house. Currently I have an Ethernet cord running to my set top box carrying both digital cable and internet. When it get's to the set top box it split's it up into it's respective places. The Ethernet cord I use is very long and I need to run it along the roof of my house for it to reach the cable box. If I were to use Ethernet over power line would i be able to get everything to work? I'm asking this because Ethernet over power line is usually just used for internet. Would it be able to handle a tv signal and internet signal?
Thanks
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
984
As long as the cable used is standard CAT-5 then yes as Ethernet defines the standard. Which cable company? As that sounds very odd to me here in the UK anyway? Usually here it is a Cable/Coax connector from outside to the set top box/cable modem then ethernet? I use a pair of Powerline Adapters in my house to get from my 2nd floor office to the Ground Floor Router and for 3 years without problems. I admit this is not for TV but Internet only.
Other people on this forum cannot stand powerline adapters and have had issues so best you keep the receipts!!!
 

techboy102

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
26
The cable company is called MTS and i'm sure it only uses ethernet. Do you know of a cheap good pair of powerline ethernet adapters? And which types of problems do people run into when setting up ethernet over powerline?
Thanks for your quick answer
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Personally, I ran into all sorts of issues with two different brands of powerline adapters in a number of locations. OTOH, some folks here plug them in and they run right out of the box.

I agree with the other comment, keep the receipt and make sure you buy from a place you can return them! :D
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
984
Joined
Oct 3, 2009
Messages
984

techboy102

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
26
Thanks all for the quick posts! and Warrior 19: that Ethernet port is for internet. It runs to my router and is a regular Ethernet cord. Thanks again Everyone!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top