1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Everything is being blocked!

Discussion in 'General Security' started by corsac, Jan 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. corsac

    corsac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Hi, I've been trying to get around this problem for a while but now it's getting really annoying. Basically the vast majority of the programs on my computer which need to access the internet are being blocked and I don't know what's doing it. Just about the only ones that are getting through are firefox and spotify as far as I can see, all others (IE8, itunes, windows defender, security center, google sketchup etc) attempt to access but after a short while they all come back and tell me to check my internet connection. Even my security software (before I uninstalled it) would say the same thing. I've tried disabling and/or uninstalling just about everything I can think may be causing it, but still, nothing can get through.

    Also, I recently tried to download a trial for office 2010 and when I came to run it, it told me that the files required for installation could not be loaded and that I should check my connection and try again. It then advised me that DEP had blocked the file, so I tried to make it allow the file but still, nada. Argh! :mad:

    Thanks for any help you can give me.

    Craig.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    what security program - if Norton, McAfee etc - they often block even after being uninstalled and need the removal tool to completely remove them


    Kaspersky Removal Tool
    A link to Kaspersky - this varies with different versions
    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208279463
    http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=193239279

    Mcafee RemovalTool
    http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
    http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

    Norton Removal Tool
    http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN
     
  3. corsac

    corsac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Thanks a lot for the suggestion, I used the tool and restarted but the problem remains.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    how are you connected to the router ?
    make and model of the router

    lets see an ipconfig /all and also ping tests
    if connected by wireless lets see xirrus

    Connect to the router by cable - start pc keep tapping F8 a menu appears choose safemode with networking will it now connect ?


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
    -> Start
    -> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all
    -> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
    cmd /k ipconfig /all

    A black box will appear on the screen -
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy

    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {Ping Tests}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    Type the following command
    Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    post back results
    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. Ent

    Ent Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    5,467
    First Name:
    Josiah
    I'm just going to butt in here and make a suggestion. The problem may lie in "Internet Options" which governs many programs but I know doesn't touch firefox. It may be worth a check in those options; if a proxy has been set up there, if something funny is found in the restricted sites zone, etc. I would suggest going to Internet Options, to the rightmost "Advanced" tab, and clicking Reset to wipe out any possible interference from those settings.

    To open Internet Options, click Start, click Control Panel, click Network and Internet Connections, and then click Internet Options.
     
  6. corsac

    corsac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    great! I was just about to post all those results and saw your suggestion. it's cleared everything up, thanks a lot. Thanks for your help etaf.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972843

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice