Solved: Everything is being blocked!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

corsac

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 15, 2007
Messages
34
Hi, I've been trying to get around this problem for a while but now it's getting really annoying. Basically the vast majority of the programs on my computer which need to access the internet are being blocked and I don't know what's doing it. Just about the only ones that are getting through are firefox and spotify as far as I can see, all others (IE8, itunes, windows defender, security center, google sketchup etc) attempt to access but after a short while they all come back and tell me to check my internet connection. Even my security software (before I uninstalled it) would say the same thing. I've tried disabling and/or uninstalling just about everything I can think may be causing it, but still, nothing can get through.

Also, I recently tried to download a trial for office 2010 and when I came to run it, it told me that the files required for installation could not be loaded and that I should check my connection and try again. It then advised me that DEP had blocked the file, so I tried to make it allow the file but still, nada. Argh! :mad:

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Craig.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
what security program - if Norton, McAfee etc - they often block even after being uninstalled and need the removal tool to completely remove them


Kaspersky Removal Tool
A link to Kaspersky - this varies with different versions
http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=208279463
http://support.kaspersky.com/faq/?qid=193239279

Mcafee RemovalTool
http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507
http://majorgeeks.com/McAfee_Consumer_Product_Removal_Tool_d5420.html

Norton Removal Tool
http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_view.jsp?wv_type=public_web&docurl=20080710133834EN
 

corsac

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 15, 2007
Messages
34
Thanks a lot for the suggestion, I used the tool and restarted but the problem remains.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,457
how are you connected to the router ?
make and model of the router

lets see an ipconfig /all and also ping tests
if connected by wireless lets see xirrus

Connect to the router by cable - start pc keep tapping F8 a menu appears choose safemode with networking will it now connect ?


------------------------------------------------------------------------
{ipconfig /all}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here
We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results here
-> Start
-> (XP - enter the following in the RUN box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all
-> (Vista or Windows 7 - enter the following in the Search box)
cmd /k ipconfig /all

A black box will appear on the screen -
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy

then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{Ping Tests}
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
{run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
Then run and install the program
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
I'm just going to butt in here and make a suggestion. The problem may lie in "Internet Options" which governs many programs but I know doesn't touch firefox. It may be worth a check in those options; if a proxy has been set up there, if something funny is found in the restricted sites zone, etc. I would suggest going to Internet Options, to the rightmost "Advanced" tab, and clicking Reset to wipe out any possible interference from those settings.

To open Internet Options, click Start, click Control Panel, click Network and Internet Connections, and then click Internet Options.
 

corsac

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 15, 2007
Messages
34
great! I was just about to post all those results and saw your suggestion. it's cleared everything up, thanks a lot. Thanks for your help etaf.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top