1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: (Excel '07 VBA) Trying to create a custom function

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Edoardo, Apr 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Edoardo

Edoardo Thread Starter

Hi techsupportguys,

I have been trying to create a variant of the PRODUCT function (multiplies all numbers given as arguments) in Excel 2007, so that I "add 1" to each value before multiplying.

So the formula would be Product(x+1) for a series of values.

e.g. (0.32 + 1)*(0.44 + 1)*(1.22 + 1)* ...

I have not been able to do this as I am new to creating macros - but I imagine it is really simple to do - I just don't know how and it is driving me crazy! It would be really great to create a simple function that does this (or even find a way of editing the PRODUCT function in VBA)

Could someone please show me how it is done?

Many thanks,

Edoardo

P.S. I know the roundabout way of doing this is to create a new column that adds 1 to all the values, and then calculate the PRODUCT, but it would be really nice to create a new function that does it. ;)

2. LauraMJ

LauraMJ Administrator

Opened as requested.

3. Edoardo

Edoardo Thread Starter

To summarise, the formula I am trying to create is

Product(CELL VALUE + 1)

Is this even possible using macro?

4. Zack Barresse

Zack Barresse

Hi, if I understand you correctly, maybe this will work, assuming your data is in range A1:A3...

Code:
    =SUMPRODUCT(A1:A3+(LEN(A1:A3)>0))

5. Edoardo

Edoardo Thread Starter

Thanks for the response Zack but that doesn't quite achieve what I'm trying to do. Sorry if I'm not explaining myself properly.