1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Excel 2010 Train Schedule guide :D creation

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by ChrisCawley, Jan 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ChrisCawley

    ChrisCawley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    39

    Hey Guys, Hope everyone had a good New Year.

    Let’s see who can help me with this next request.

    I have a spreadsheet which has 3 tabs on it. first 2 tabs contain TrainRoutes from different locations to a final destination and last tabs is Fare . WhatI am trying to do is to be able to select a train # eg: 300’s and 400’s thenhave it populate the train times.

    So if I want to choose on the Riverside Line Tab and select the East OntarioStation Train # 403, it should show 6:03…. Then I would select my Destinationof L.A. Union Station for # 403 which should show 7:05. Maybe if it’s not toomuch to add the total ride time at the end.

    This is a start. If you have any other great ideas for it let me know.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Garf13LD

    Garf13LD

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    455
    I just park the whole thing beside your original list.
    Am using data validation for drop down list.
    To amend, go to Data > Data Tools > Data Validation.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. ChrisCawley

    ChrisCawley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Garf13LD-

    Thank you very much. Works great. Now to make another section to do the opposite.
     
  4. ChrisCawley

    ChrisCawley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Hi Garf,

    Is it possible to add in the ticket value for the selected train in Column L?

    If you can get it started for me i think i can add in additional costs for other stations that whats already provided.
     
  5. Garf13LD

    Garf13LD

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    455
    If you have a lookup table, yes.
     
  6. ChrisCawley

    ChrisCawley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Here is what i have so far.

    Can you help me with creating the table for me its a little more complex i believe.

    On tab 3 you can see the table that was created on the first request. To the right of it, is the Fares for To and From location

    Eg: Morning Train leaves Pomona to LA union station, Fare price for a monthly pass is 108.50

    Can we add this next to the table with train times.
     
  7. Garf13LD

    Garf13LD

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    455
    Not quite sure what you mean.
    I added fare to SBLine tab.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ChrisCawley

    ChrisCawley Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Ok, so on the Fares Tab can you have it to where if i select Ontario as departure and LA as arrival the value should be 163.00

    If i choose Downtown Pomona to LA the value should be 108.50.

    I wanted to see the values change base on departure location and to arrival in LA.

    I tried the Vlookup you used but not sure where i am going wrong with it on the fares tab.

    =VLOOKUP(C2,SB Line!$E$2:$E$6,3,0) is where i need help with in the M2 Column in my updated excel sheet.
    See attachment.
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Garf13LD

    Garf13LD

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    455
    O.K.
    Did 3 for you, not sure which one do you require.

    M2 - only checks for Departure Location
    N2 - Checks Departure only if Arrival is LA Union
    O2 - Is for bigger fare table where you have a matrix of rates for each and every stations.

    Lastly, you might want to clean up and standardize the LA Union description.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1084433

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice