Solved: Excel 2010 v Excel 2003 Error Valid Range

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Geeta2013

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
56
We recently migrated from Office 2003 to Office 2010.

Just to give some background, (and I dont' know if this is relevant to this error), the Office 2003 excel did not accurately show the correct file paths where files were linked. It would show something in the C drive.

The issue I am concerned about today is this: when some users close files in 2010 (files were created in they sometimes get the error below:

'"The name ABE2, either conflicts with a valid range reference or is invalid for Excel. This name has been replaced with _ABE2"

Can someone assist me with this? I need to stop it from appearing and I am not sure how.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
i get the same error , if i try and name a range ABE2 - its used by excel - hence the error you get
but
not sure what excel uses ABE2 for - a google search did not help

so you have a named range in the spreadsheet called ABE2 from 2003 - which may have been ok in that version
 

Geeta2013

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
56
thanks Wayne..but I do not have a named range. And this is appearing on multiple files. It seems to be directly related to migrating from a 2003 Desktop to a 2010 Desktop in my case. I've got to figure out a fix.
 

etaf

Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,435
First Name
Wayne
looks like something in 2010 uses that term, i cant find what it though
or perhaps where you are using it

hopefully a excel guru will be by with an answer
 

WendyM

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Jun 27, 2003
Messages
4,042
Can you attach one of the files? You can replace the information with dummy data if you need to. Excel seems to think you DO have a named range ABE2. Excel columns didn't extend that far in 2003, so that named range was ok. They do extend that far in 2007, so there is actually a cell reference for ABE2, which is what's creating the conflict. There's nothing inherently used by Excel called "ABE2", so it's getting that conflict from something in your workbook. It could be coming from a macro that you don't realize is there, which would explain why it appears in multiple files.
 

Keebellah

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
6,611
First Name
Hans
Just for your information
Excel 2003 and older allowed for 256 columns A-IV
Excell 2007 and newer that is 16384 columsn A-XFD

So any letter combination that comes inbetween is not allowed as named range anymore and Excel 'helpd' you by adding the _ which makes it valid

ABE2 is column 733 Row 2 and not allowed as named range.

Change the named ranges to all start with an _ and it's over.

I hope it answers your question (a little) I ran into the same issue when I sued my 2003 version files with named ranges and one was by accident in ACO column 769 :)

Happy (re)coding
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2004
Messages
5,456
How is a named range being created in 2010? Was this a named range in 2003 of that name? It should be as simple as just changing the name in 2003 to a non-range address name, i.e. appending an underscore pre-fix before it's opened in 2007 or later. Named ranges should not follow the same naming convention as range addresses. There's nothing saying in the future we won't have range AAAA1. :)
 

WendyM

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Jun 27, 2003
Messages
4,042
The problem is that Geeta doesn't think the workbook does have a named range. That's why I'm hoping we can get a look at an example to see if maybe the range is being named by a macro that Geeta is unaware of.
 

Geeta2013

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
56
Unfortunately - I dont' have the Workbook. I am trying to assist someone who for confidentiality reasons wouldn't let even me have a copy...I had 3 minutes to look at it..so this is a blind one..Thanks all
 

WendyM

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Jun 27, 2003
Messages
4,042
In that case, the next time you get access to the workbook, press Ctrl+G. In the reference box, type ABE2. That should take you to where the named range is.

You can let Excel just rename the range for every workbook, but finding the named range will at least clarify WHY it's happening, which might help to satisfy the user.
 

Geeta2013

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
56
Thank you Wendy. I've printed this out and posted it over my desk : )
 

WendyM

Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Jun 27, 2003
Messages
4,042
No problem, but I just realized I told you the wrong thing. In the reference box, type "_ABE2". Since Excel has already changed it, ABE2 will just take you to the cell. _ABE2 should take you to the range. So please draw a little underscore on your printout. :D
 

Geeta2013

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 5, 2013
Messages
56
Seems as if something else was going on (from the developers' standpoint) that a lowly desktop support person doesn't hear about if it is resolve. thanks guys.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top