1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Excel error hiding

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Chrissyp, Apr 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chrissyp

Chrissyp Thread Starter

Hi, I am fairly new to excel and I am trying to get my head round simple spreadsheets at the moment. What a minefield. However I am trying to do something that is probably very simple. I have a cell that I want to hide the contents of if it shows as an error OR as a value below 0. If I use conditional formatting to hide the value if it is below 0 then I can do this successfully when I have entered some data in other cells to show the value. If however the cells with the data are left empty then I get a div/o error. If I then go to conditional formatting and use the =ISERROR command to hide this div/0 it overwrites the original command to hide the below zero format. Can I get the cell to hide the div/0 when the sheet is blank and also hide the below zero values when the sheet is in use. I hope that makes sense to someone.

Chris

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    what version of excel - in 2003 you can put three options in conditional format
    option 1 - div/o
    OR
    option 2 - <0

3. Chrissyp

Chrissyp Thread Starter

Hi, yes I am using 2003. So how do I put more than one conditional format in the cell please?

Chris

4. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
  5. Chrissyp

Chrissyp Thread Starter

Thank you very much for the information. One step closer to being a spreadsheet wizard.

Chris

6. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    yep, :) (y) if that worked for you - you can mark this thread solved - use the button at the top of your first post

7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!