1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: EXCEL exceedingly SLOW???

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by LUIS39, May 11, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 4300 @ 1.80GHz, x64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 2
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3069 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 228128 MB, Free - 141984 MB; D: Total - 10239 MB, Free - 4325 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0CT017
    Antivirus: AVG AntiVirus Free Edition 2015, Updated and Enabled

    All of a sudden opening or navigating Excel 2010 is as slow as molasses. What's up?:confused:
     
  2. valis

    valis Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Messages:
    77,610
    when was the last time you dumped temp files? Start > run > %temp% > enter > select all in the right pane and delete them.
     
  3. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,912
    Also disable all add-ons to see if that makes any difference.
     
  4. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    Using a new anti virus software?
     
  5. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    No-not a new one. I'm just confused as to why I need more than one. Currently I have AVG and it has served me well but with a new PC came WD which I turned off. And I occasionally use SUPERANTISPYWARE and MALWAREBYTES.
     
  6. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Thanks but the feature Start > run does not appear. I did Start>search but all the "Temp" folders were empty. Did I miss something?
     
  7. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    Open command prompt
    type cd %temp% < Enter >
    and you're in the temp folder
     
  8. LUIS39

    LUIS39 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2007
    Messages:
    349
    Keebellah thanks-done but I don't think the PC will go much faster.

    It might help if I uninstall 2 huge chess databases and engines but I need them for a while.

    Thanks again to you and all other guys-solved??
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148077

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice