1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Excel module to .exe

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by youwillbowdown, Nov 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. youwillbowdown

    youwillbowdown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I have finished my earlier task (for more information see my earlier topic), and now I am trying to make the file so that it can run as a .exe file. I don't want the end user to have to open up excel, and then run the VBA code. I would (ideally) like the user to be able to just double click an icon, and from that the VBA code would automatically perform what I need it to do. I have found several programs online, but they are all $50+. Anyone know something cheaper or easier?

    So help me slurpee55, if you are able to find a Microsoft website telling me how to do this I am going to scream!! :)

    TIA
    ywbd
     
  2. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    LOL - I haven't looked, but don't imagine MS is in the business of not selling something like that.... :)
     
  3. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
  4. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    We can do this for you with a VBS file. I'm too lazy to look at your other thread, please post a link along with some sample data. (Are you the sensitivity person? If so, make the info 'dummy'.)
     
  5. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,912
    As Zack has already mentioned you can add your code to a stand alone VBS script. If you prefer an .exe file just let me know and I'll compile it for you in VB 6.0

    The VBS file should however be adequate

    Regards,
    Rollin
     
  6. youwillbowdown

    youwillbowdown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Got it, thanks for the help.

    ywbd
     
  7. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    ??? Half of this boards functionality is the search capability in finding solutions for past threads. Would you mind, for such purposes, sharing with us the solution you found suitable for you?
     
  8. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Yes, I would be interested in trying to understand this....
     
  9. youwillbowdown

    youwillbowdown Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    I must admit that it was probably the low tech version, but I wound up having it minimize the excel worksheet upon open, and then it kicked off the computations. The VB approach was not feasible, due to the fact that in the future this tool might have to be modified. I am trying to make it as user friendly as possible, thus my reason for using excel, rather then Perl.

    Now however, I have come up with another problem! (Good Lord, thought I knew excel.... Guess NOT!!).

    Is there a way to use a counter to modify a range?

    ie:
    ActiveCell.Range("b1").Select
    counterlow = 1
    counterhigh = 1

    oldlinesourcetext = ActiveCell
    ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Select
    newlinesourcetext = ActiveCell
    If oldlinesourcetext = newlinesourcetext Then
    counterhigh = counterhigh + 1
    Else
    Range(A[counterlow]:B[counterhigh]) <---- this is the part that confuses me.

    (firefytr, this should make you happy since I am posting something other than a question :) )

    ywbd
     
  10. Rollin_Again

    Rollin_Again

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    4,912
    Try this. Just replace the .select portion with your desired action.

    Code:
    Range("A" & counterlow, "B" & counterhigh).Select
    Regards,
    Rollin
     
  11. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    Also, btw, for editing a VBS-type solution, you only need Notepad. ;)

    Good luck.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/649101

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice