1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Excel validation list

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by gurutech, Feb 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. gurutech

    gurutech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    I am trying to create a validation list in Excel, but the problem is that it won't let me do this because the dropdown I want to create is on a separate "sheet" than the data that it needs to contain. I am doing it this way, because there is more than one range I need to pull data from.

    Is there any way to do this? I would prefer not to have to copy the data from the first sheet to a "hidden column" on the second sheet, but if there's no other way, then I guess I am stuck.

    Please help!
     
  2. maxflia10

    maxflia10

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Use named ranges and refer to that name. In the Allow window, select list and in the source window, enter

    =ListName

    Where ListName is the name you gave to your list.
     
  3. gurutech

    gurutech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    How do I define named ranges?


    Nevermind... it didn't work anyway - says I can't do it because I have more than one area selected as my named range.

    I ended up copying the contents of the items to the same worksheet in a hidden column (removing duplicates) and doing a List validation. Works pretty well.

    Only issue I have now is being able to show a blank field instead of "#N/A" for a value that doesn't exist.

    I have several cells with VLOOKUP values - if the value is present, it is displayed in the cell. If a value is not present, Excel displays "#N/A" (ie - error). Is there a way to get it to not display anything if there's an error?
     
  4. OBP

    OBP

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,895
    Use an If(vlookupvalue >0, vlookupvalue,0) for values
    Use an If(vlookupvalue <>"", vlookupvalue, "") for text
    where vlookupvalue is you vlookup formula.
     
  5. maxflia10

    maxflia10

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Try,

    =IF(ISNA(VLOOKUP(A1,B1:C10,2,0)),"",VLOOKUP(A1,B1:C10,2,0))

    Concerning the named range, just highlight the range in which your validation list resides, i.e. A1:A10 and enter a name in the Name Box and press Enter.
     
  6. gurutech

    gurutech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    I tried that actually. It still gives me the "#N/A" value, indicating an error.
     
  7. gurutech

    gurutech Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,960
    Max - that worked! Thanks!
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/543346

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice