1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: Excel & VBA

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by AMorrison0903, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AMorrison0903

AMorrison0903 Thread Starter

Hello everyone...

I am a network engineer, mcse, however, I was asked to do some programming (which i havent done since high school) anyways, i will cut to chase...

in short, i need excel to look at columnA with columnB and corresponding row... if columnA, row 1 is =< columnB, row 1 then that is the answer, if not, then move to the next row... if columnA row 2 is =< columnB, row 2, then that is the answer, if not move to the next row and so forth.

i have the rest of the program done it is just this last part.

I have narrowed it down to a for loop as what to use and i would assume if then statements... unfortunately i cant figure out how to make it work... it has been years since i have done that so if anyone can help, i will be greatly indebted.

thanks, andrew

2. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

I am still confused by what the macro should be doing. Do you want to highlight rows that meet or do not meet the condition? Do you want a count of how many rows meet or do not meet the condition? I'm not trying to be a pain but your explanation of what you want is not very clear. Please explain the "big" picture and we'll provide you with a solution. What are you ultimately trying to accomplish? What type of data is being tracked in this spreadsheet and how will it be used?