1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: EXCEL Wrap Text

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by Kolias, Apr 4, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kolias

    Kolias Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    In my database I have select all cells to wrap text but when the text is longer that the column width, the text wraps ok but I have to manually increase each row’s height to be able to see the text.

    Is there a setting to have Excel increase the row height as needed to be able to see the contents?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    i use a macro to autofit , after any update
    as follows

    Private Sub Workbook_SheetChange(ByVal Sh As Object, ByVal Target As Range)
    Application.ScreenUpdating = False
    ActiveSheet.Rows.AutoFit
    End Sub
     
  3. draceplace

    draceplace

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    You didn't mention the version of Excel but in 2010/2013 there is a 'wrap text' Icon on the home tab.

    Select the whole spreadsheet by clicking the top left corner of the spreadsheet.
    Clicking the 'wrap' text icon on home page\allingment section will turn wrap text on and off. (easier than going into 'propertes\format')
    You can then select by columns the fields you want to auto fit.
    With the whole column vertically selected, Hover over the column label (like "A") when the cursur changes from the down arrow to a plus sign (cursor will be near the edge) double click and that column will auto fit(horizonally if wrap is off). You can select multiple columns to auto fit as as well.
     
  4. Kolias

    Kolias Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Sorry for the omission, I use Excel 2013

    Dan I already do selecting all the sheet and format with the wrap text but I didn’t know about the column select trick, that’s pretty neat

    Wayne it’s a long time since I did macros, how / where I do make the macro? And then how do I applied? Perhaps by selecting all the sheet and apply the macro?

    Thanks to both for the help
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    the macro is automatic
    which can make entering data slow

    goto developer
    visual basic
     
  6. Kolias

    Kolias Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    ok I got the developer / VB, do I insert a UserForm, Module or Class Module?
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you should see
    This workbook - under VBAProject

    you can add there

    OR you can click on the sheet number , under vbaproject

    make sure you also save as a macro enabled workbook

    or load a sample workbook here
     
  8. Kolias

    Kolias Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks Wayne, I went to Macros, selected this workbook, paste the code as per above and saved the file as .XLSM. Now when I type in a cell a long text the row still does not expand. What is wrong?
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,355
    First Name:
    Wayne
    no, its stopped working for me !!!!! was working a few months ago, when I put together for a customer search
    not sure why - sorry about that :(
     
  10. Kolias

    Kolias Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Thanks anyway

    Cheers
     
  11. draceplace

    draceplace

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,583
    A note on my previous post. If you select multiple columns vertically it will 'auto fit' them all when you do the plus sign double click as well (instead of one at a time).
     
  12. Keebellah

    Keebellah Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,608
    First Name:
    Hans
    You could still use the macro and also include a maximum column with (and row height).
    You could even include options to increase the column width based upon the total length of the text, but then again avoid that the column width becomes too wide but keep the row height dynamic too.
     
  13. Kolias

    Kolias Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    I only have Office2013 since last September and I must say that I hate the new ribbon menus (I had before Office2002). The guy who designed the ribbon should be banned for life from working in programming because to my opinion he made it worse than ever.

    I used to do all my work in Excel / Word with keyboard shortcuts and now most of these are gone and have to go thru the ribbons to find what I need (very inconvenient and time consuming)

    Anyway I found under the HOME ribbon, Format Tab, the “AutoFit Row Height” and this is what I was looking for. Regardless of my column width, when I type a long text and hit Enter the row adjust to fit my text.

    Thank you all
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145978

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice