1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: excell with open office [help]

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by timothye, Nov 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. timothye

    timothye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    HI , i have 0 skills with excell .
    I have a excell doc , i have 1 column that has 3600 rows with nubers in each cell ..
    its a price list actually .
    what i need to do is change the decimal point in these 3600 rows --

    example i would like to achieve ..

    32,56
    125,69
    024,55
    i would like to just move the decimal point from right to left 2 places .
    right now there isnt any decimal point at all .


    example of how it is now ..
    3256
    12569
    02455

    Cheers T
     
  2. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    Hi there!

    In a blank cell type 100. Select it and copy it. Then select your range of numbers and Paste Special | Multiply. :)

    HTH
     
  3. timothye

    timothye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    ok .. so i typed in a blank cell 100
    then i copied .. then paste special and i get 2 options .
    1 : unformatted text
    2 : Formatted text


    as the title says Open office
    that is the prog i am using ..
    Cheers T
     
  4. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    Oh, you said excell, I assumed you meant Excel, and not Calc. I don't know how to do it in Calc. Maybe ...

    =A1*100

    Copy down.
     
  5. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    According to OO's documentation,
    http://documentation.openoffice.org/online_help/htmlhelp/text/shared/01/02070000.html
    Paste Special has the same ability - in fact, it has all of these:
    Operations

    Select the operation to apply when you paste cells into your sheet.

    None

    Does not apply an operation when you insert the cell range from the clipboard. The contents of the clipboard will replace existing cell contents.

    Add

    Adds the values in the clipboard cells to the values in the target cells. Also, if the clipboard only contains notes, adds the notes to the target cells.

    Subtract

    Subtracts the values in the clipboard cells from the values in the target cells.

    Multiply

    Multiplies the values in the clipboard cells with the values in the target cells.

    Divide

    Divides the values in the target cells by the values in the clipboard cells.

    Note the last - Divide. Works the same as in Excel.
     
  6. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    Thanks for that slurpee. :)

    Timothye, if nothing else, post a sample of your file. I need a reason to d/l OO anyway. :)
     
  7. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Yes, Timothye, you just must have not clicked something right. I used OO for a very short time firefytr. I have a rather poor PC at home (practically no RAM) and I found OO continually crashing. Gave up. But a coworker used it all the time, in an office full of MS Office users. No problems there (alas, she quit last month).
     
  8. timothye

    timothye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    I think my example in my post sums it up .
    there arent any decimal points . and all i want to do is put a decimal poin in the file starting from the right to left 2 places so it would be
    32.56
    182.65

    and so on . is this possible ?
    again thx
    Cheers T
     
  9. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Okay, first, you should, according to OO, be able to type in 100, copy it, highlight a column (or the whole sheet, if it is all numbers), right-click and go to Paste Special, Divide. That should divide all the numbers by 100, and make a decimal appear.
     
  10. timothye

    timothye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    ok i understand it now ..
    but the multiply isnt working .. now that i am on the right track . ill figure it out

    thank everyone for your input .. cheers T
     
  11. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Multiply 3256 by 100 and you get 325600. Make sure you divide! :)
     
  12. Zack Barresse

    Zack Barresse

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,452
    I put multiply in my post because you said you wanted to go from 32,56 to 3256. I assumed the comma was, as is normal in swedish Excel (don't know about Calc international versions), an English period (aka decimal). So with that, in fact it would be multiply. Going the other way (moving the 'decimal' in the opposite direction) would be divide.
     
  13. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    reading too fast, old friend...
     
  14. timothye

    timothye Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    743
    i finaly achieved this goal

    in an empty space type in 100 , then copy the cell with the 100 you just typed in .
    then go back to the main column you want to edit click paste special /divide
    then it will divide by 100 and put the point in the correct place ..or edit the 100 accordingally ..

    Cheers T
     
  15. slurpee55

    slurpee55

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7,837
    Glad that we were able to help - OO is a fine program, but not that many specialists in it here that I know if - you may have to become ours!! :)
    Please use the thread tools at the top of the page to mark this thread as solved.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/648971

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice