1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: expansion card for Sata 3

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Aprilair, Aug 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Aprilair

Aprilair Thread Starter

Hello, I am a newbie and need some help. I have purchased one Samsung 850 PRO SSD 128GB solid state drive and plan to install a brand new, retail version, of Windows 7 on it; plus no more than probably 8 to 10 favorite applications such as, Google, Internet Explorer Microsoft Office etc. I have around a 5 year computer that has SATA 2 ports on the motherboard with all expansion slots unused. My computer is a HP a6700f pavilion desktop http://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c01612528 , http://h20564.www2.hp.com/hpsc/doc/public/display?docId=c01612528 . It has the following, unused, expansion slots:
    • 1 PCI Express x16 slot
    • 2 PCI Express x1 slots
    • 1 PCI slot