1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: "Explore" option lost after right-clicking USB, DVD

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by jai_bautista, Jun 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jai_bautista

jai_bautista Thread Starter

Hi everyone!

This is my first time to post in this forum. I searched the net for answers regarding my problem as states in my title above yet I can't find any definitive answers.

Here's what happened: I was transferring files from my sister's netbook (Win XP) to my laptop (Windows 7) using my USB flash drive. After I inserted the USB in one of the laptop's USB ports, my antivirus program initially detected that something's wrong with the USB drive; it said that it had a virus (autorun.inf and Recycler). As far as I am concerned, I turned off all autoplay notifications for any USB drives inserted to my laptop. After cleaning the USB drive of the autorun.inf and Recycler problems, I tried to open the USB drive usiing:

Right Click -> Explore

However, to my great surprise, the "Explore" option was missing and the only options left for opening my USB drive were these:

Open
    Open in new Window
    Open Autoplay...

Initially, my reaction was to load my antivirus program (ESET NOD32) and scan the USB drive, thinking that the USB drive had a virus infection of some sort. The scan didn't detect any virus or malware. So I tried using another USB drive to check if the same options will appear. And appear they did without the "Explore" option! I also tried inserting a DVD where I hid all my files; the same options stated above appeared without the "Explore" option.

So what I did was to scan my whole computer to see if there's a problem using Nod32 and Spybot S&D. The scans were inconclusive.