Solved: Explorer.exe - Unable to locate component

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

douglar02

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
41
Right off the bat i knew this was not a good sign since explorer is so well integrated into windows. I tryed to remove some spyware and upon reboot everything was fine until you choose your user. Once that happens a error box comes up reading:

Explorer.exe - Unable to locate component

Failed to start because wininet.dll was not found. Re-installing this may fix the problem.



I tryed booting from the windows xp home edition cd but was unsuccesful.

I really have some important files on the pc and home i can get this issue handled without doing anything crazy like taking the HD out and moving the files to this pc.

Edit: Important note: The start menu and no icons load up. Just my background.


Thanks for the help!
Kyle
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
3,235
If you can open the task manager (ctrl+alt+del), click file, new task (run), and type sfc /scannow and click ok. Have your XP cd ready...
 

douglar02

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
41
When i boot from the cd it asks me for the admin password, since there isnt one i just enter and it goes through to the startup. Then i would click a username and it would give the same error message

With the sfc /scannow it gives me the same error message excecept for Taskmanager.exe.. even though it is already open. missing that win .dll file
 

douglar02

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 20, 2005
Messages
41
If i go to file open, i can browse to the files i want in word and such and can open them successfully in msword03... So i think i just need to get that win dll file back on the pc and i will be set?
 
Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
3,235
Here's the wininet.dll file from microsoft...zipped. Unzip and copy to c:\windows\system32.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 27, 2007
Messages
3,235
Good deal...please use the thread tools at the top right to mark this one solved...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top