1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

[Solved] explorer illegal operation at shutdown

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by jerry smith, Jan 5, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jerry smith

    jerry smith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    I get an illegal operation message from explorer at time of shutdown
     
  2. Dodge

    Dodge

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2001
    Messages:
    65
    Hi Jerry. What is the Exact Error message you receive? We will need to know that before we can figure out what is going on.
     
  3. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    hi jerry.... which OS are you using & is the illegal operation in windows explorer or Internet Explorer?
     
  4. jerry smith

    jerry smith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    im going to try the attach file
     

    Attached Files:

  5. jerry smith

    jerry smith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    i'll try a attachment
     

    Attached Files:

  6. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi Jerry,theres alot of things that can cause that error.Lets start by having a look at your startup programs.Go to Start>Run>type in Msinfo32,click ok.click on the + sign next to software environemnt>click on startup programs>click on edit>select all>click edit>copy,and paste the page back here
     
  7. jerry smith

    jerry smith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    DeskFlag Startup Group "C:\Program Files\Tiger Technologies\DeskFlag\deskflag.exe"
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    ATIGART Registry (Machine Run) c:\ati\gart\atigart.exe
    AtiPTA Registry (Machine Run) Atiptaxx.exe
    Microsoft IntelliType Pro Registry (Machine Run) "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Hardware\Keyboard\speedkey.exe"
    NAV DefAlert Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\DEFALERT.EXE
    Norton eMail Protect Registry (Machine Run) C:\Program Files\Norton SystemWorks\Norton AntiVirus\POPROXY.EXE
    LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    Norton Auto-Protect Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NORTON~2\NAVAPW32.EXE /LOADQUIET
    SymTray - Norton SystemWorks Registry (Machine Service) C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\SymTray.exe "Norton SystemWorks"
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Jerry,

    Also take a look at this MS article. See whether it applies:

    TASKMON or EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in module KERNEL32.DLL

    SYMPTOMS
    When you attempt to start or shut down Windows 98 or Windows Millennium Edition (Me), or to start Windows Explorer, you may receive one of the following error messages:

    TASKMON caused an invalid page fault in module KERNEL32.DLL

    EXPLORER caused an invalid page fault in module KERNEL32.DLL.

    CAUSE
    This behavior can occur if log files in the Windows\Applog folder are damaged. When you shut down Windows 98 or Windows Me, the Task Monitor tool attempts to update these log files. When it cannot do so, the error message occurs.


    Good luck,
     
  9. jerry smith

    jerry smith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Okay if thats the cause then whats the cure?????
     
  10. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I quoted only part of the MS article.
    If you read it entirely, all will become clear.

    Good luck,
     
  11. beach51

    beach51

    Joined:
    May 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,199
    Hi Jerry,your startup programs look fine.You have a few that you dont need at startup.If Tonys advice doesnt solve the problem,try removeing the following from your startup programs.

    Desk Flag
    Atigart
    microsoft intelli type
    loadqm

    Go to start>run>type in msconfig>click on the startup tab>remove the check marks next to the programs.Do them one at a time,click apply>then ok.reboot.
     
  12. jerry smith

    jerry smith Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Well renameing the APPLOG folder did the trick

    Thanks for all (the much needed) help

    Jerry
     
  13. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Well done!
    Glad you got it cornered. :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/64328

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice