1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: 'Extend Volume' greyed out

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Godmyeyesarebad!, May 19, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Godmyeyesarebad!

    Godmyeyesarebad! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    First Name:
    Stuart
    Hello

    I have just installed a WD 6TB Green Hard Drive for storage as I have an SSD as my C drive. A 5-minute job, I thought! Wrong....... Here I am, 4 hours later still looking at the screen!

    The problem is: I have 3541.03GB of unallocated space and when right click to extend the volume, the 'extend volume' is greyed out.

    I don't know why this is happening or how to fix it.

    This is a brand new drive and there is no data on it at the moment. I enclosing a screen shot of the problem.

    Anyone got a clue please ???

    Thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    I think you may have run into a technical limitation. I believe you need to be using GPT partitions on a UEFI motherboard for full access to the whole 6 TB and chances are it is an Advanced Format Drive.
     
  3. Godmyeyesarebad!

    Godmyeyesarebad! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    First Name:
    Stuart
    Thank you very much for your quick reply. I think I understand what you're saying (my PC knowledge is very limited). Can you see a way round this or does it mean the HDD is not suitable for the Gigabyte Motherboard GA-870A-UD3 (Socket M2).
     
  4. CleaverX

    CleaverX

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,323
    Not really, your mobo does not support drives larger than 3TB and it is not on the supported list for the unlock utility. I would say since it is a data drive, just leave it be, if you ever run out of room on it, you can create a new volume out of the unallocated space and use it.
     
  5. Godmyeyesarebad!

    Godmyeyesarebad! Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    166
    First Name:
    Stuart
    Thank you very much for your reply. I'll do what you advise.

    Best regards.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Solved 'Extend Volume'
  1. ozegirl
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,427
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148493

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice