Solved: external hardware only half full but says no space

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

nartea1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
9
Hello.Andrew's my name I have a problem I saw some guys already posted about this kind of problem, but noone realy said it's solved.

I have a USB 2.0 connected WD External Hard Drive 600 G capacity.Only 261 G full by all checks. No back-ups, just storage. Even so, it says I can't copy anything on it cause it is full.One partition, FAT 32, I'm runnin Win XP SP3. No BADs, I verified that too. I mean, I know there is supposed to be some space missin on every HDD, but c'm on Im talking about more than half of it. :confused:

Anyone had something like that happen to him? Thank you very very much.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,139
You might try running folder Tree Size on it.
There might be something Hiding ..
What you look at it .. Are you setup to show hidden files and folders ??

And Welcome to the TSG Forum
 

nartea1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
9
yes i am.i see the recycle bin had 1 gig in it i emptied it.
there is also some sys restore, but it s like 3 mb
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,139
Did you run TreeSize on it yet ??
While waiting on other ideas ...
Are you trying to save a file larger than 4GB in it ??
 

nartea1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
9
used the Tree Size app. nice one. thank u.
problem s the same though. i'll lose a lot of data if i format the hdd. my internal is 20 gigs.
 

nartea1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
9
Nice one dude, thank u. Moving smaller files works.
But I've already copied on trhe external a few months ago some 4 - 6 G iso's.
And there was no problem with those. They are still there.
 

nartea1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
9
got any explanations? why wold the hdd accept some huge files and then stop accepting ?
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,139
FAT 32 formatting doesn't like files larger than 4 gig ...
It needs to be formatted NTFS

I've never tried to change the formatting on a HDD that has files in it .. But I hear it can be done.
to be safe .. I'd save them elsewhere first ..(in a NTFS system)
 

nartea1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
9
Well l thank you a lot.I've done that once and i think i'll try again.
Even so, I do not understand why it accepted 10 files larger than 6 G and now it won't.
X-files....
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,139
Not sure .. I'd think it'd have problems with all files that are too large.
I had to reformat a Pre-Made once because I couldn't Image to it.

I build my own externals so I can get a better HDD with a 5 year warranty .. then format them NTFS to start with.
Enclosure .. HDD
 

nartea1979

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
9
I've just copyed 10 Gigs of info on the external and it worked.


CONCLUSION: FAT32 IS OBSOLETE GUYS! BURN IT ON THE STAKE, IF YOUR HDD IS GONNA EAT HUGE FILES.

Back to killing "za germanz" ... see y'all later, when I get in another trouble.

AND I ALWAIS DO
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top