1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: external hardware only half full but says no space

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by nartea1979, Jan 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Hello.Andrew's my name I have a problem I saw some guys already posted about this kind of problem, but noone realy said it's solved.

    I have a USB 2.0 connected WD External Hard Drive 600 G capacity.Only 261 G full by all checks. No back-ups, just storage. Even so, it says I can't copy anything on it cause it is full.One partition, FAT 32, I'm runnin Win XP SP3. No BADs, I verified that too. I mean, I know there is supposed to be some space missin on every HDD, but c'm on Im talking about more than half of it. :confused:

    Anyone had something like that happen to him? Thank you very very much.
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    You might try running folder Tree Size on it.
    There might be something Hiding ..
    What you look at it .. Are you setup to show hidden files and folders ??

    And Welcome to the TSG Forum
     
  3. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    yes i am.i see the recycle bin had 1 gig in it i emptied it.
    there is also some sys restore, but it s like 3 mb
     
  4. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    system vcolume information that is, not sys restore. sorry.:p
     
  5. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    Did you run TreeSize on it yet ??
    While waiting on other ideas ...
    Are you trying to save a file larger than 4GB in it ??
     
  6. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    used the Tree Size app. nice one. thank u.
    problem s the same though. i'll lose a lot of data if i format the hdd. my internal is 20 gigs.
     
  7. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    well yes about 6 g are the iso s im tryin to move
    that may be the broblem?
     
  8. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Nice one dude, thank u. Moving smaller files works.
    But I've already copied on trhe external a few months ago some 4 - 6 G iso's.
    And there was no problem with those. They are still there.
     
  9. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    got any explanations? why wold the hdd accept some huge files and then stop accepting ?
     
  10. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    FAT 32 formatting doesn't like files larger than 4 gig ...
    It needs to be formatted NTFS

    I've never tried to change the formatting on a HDD that has files in it .. But I hear it can be done.
    to be safe .. I'd save them elsewhere first ..(in a NTFS system)
     
  11. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Well l thank you a lot.I've done that once and i think i'll try again.
    Even so, I do not understand why it accepted 10 files larger than 6 G and now it won't.
    X-files....
     
  12. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    Not sure .. I'd think it'd have problems with all files that are too large.
    I had to reformat a Pre-Made once because I couldn't Image to it.

    I build my own externals so I can get a better HDD with a 5 year warranty .. then format them NTFS to start with.
    Enclosure .. HDD
     
  13. nartea1979

    nartea1979 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I've just copyed 10 Gigs of info on the external and it worked.


    CONCLUSION: FAT32 IS OBSOLETE GUYS! BURN IT ON THE STAKE, IF YOUR HDD IS GONNA EAT HUGE FILES.

    Back to killing "za germanz" ... see y'all later, when I get in another trouble.

    AND I ALWAIS DO
     
  14. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,917
    First Name:
    Jay
    Some more Google Reading .. you gonna build your own the next time ??
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/972600

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice