1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved: External HD Error

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bootch42, Oct 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bootch42

    bootch42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    I have an hp m7690y with windows xp i have two external hard drives, both are western digital. One is 500 gb and one is 360 or somethin. A while back i tried to transfer a large amount of files directly from the little one to the big one. Ever since then when i browse into the 500 gb one after a short time (maybe 30sec. to a min.) an error would come up saying explorer has to close. Now when I surf into the small one the same error comes up.
    I dont know what to do. I have a current antivirus (avast) and spyware protection ( spybot & spyware blaster) I don't think thats an issue.
    If anybody can help i would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance
     
  2. bootch42

    bootch42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Anybody have any ideas?
     
  3. MustBNuts

    MustBNuts

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,016
    First off, did the error give you any more specifics other than Explorer needed to close?

    Also, have you tried to run any diagnostics on these two drives? Oh, and how are they connected? USB?

    MBN
     
  4. bootch42

    bootch42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Well I looked at the error it says this:
    Error signature
    appname:explorer.exe appver: 6.0.2900.5512 modname: mpegsplitter.ax
    modver: 1.0.0.4 offset: 000270ab



    The error report contains this:

    Exception information
    Code: 0x0000094 Flags: 0x00000000
    Record: 0x000000000000000 Address: 0x00000000048a70ab


    System Information
    Windows NT 5.1 Build: 2600
    CPU Vendor Code: 756e6547 - 49656e69 - 6c65746e
    CPU Version: 000006f6 CPU Feature Code: BFEBFBFF
    CPU AMD Feature Code: 00f6e824

    Module 1
    Explorer.exe
    Image Base: 0x01000000 Image Size: 0x00000000
    Checksum: 0x00102b2c Time Stamp: 0x48025c30
    Version Information


    and so on. Didn't realize it was so long, it wont let me copy and paste.

    They are connected by usb.


    Hope that helps its all i have.

    Thanks again
     
  5. MustBNuts

    MustBNuts

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,016
    Did you ever run a diagnostic on the drives?

    MBN
     
  6. bootch42

    bootch42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Yes the diagnostic came back fine.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Try removing or unregistering the mpegsplitter.ax codec. You'll need to find it first.

    XP doesn't do well with 2 USB drives connected at once, IMO. Try using just one at a time and running chkdsk, as suggested. Also go to Device Manager, show hidden devices under the View menu, and uninstall any (faded) devices listed that you no longer have connected. Or use:

    USB Device Viewer
    USBView
     
  8. bootch42

    bootch42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    @ mustbnuts - When i ran chkdsk it did not display any results, i was out of the room when it finished and i had nothing left on the screen when i came back n the room.

    @ Elvandil - How do i remove that codec?
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Can you find it? If you can, you can unregister it (regsvr32 -u <path to codec.ax>), or delete it.
     
  10. bootch42

    bootch42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Ok ill try that when i get home. thanks again
     
  11. bootch42

    bootch42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Unregistering it would not work but i was able to rename the codec and the problem IS SOLVED!!
    Thanks for the help guys!!
    Hopefully i won't have too many problems playing movies, guess ill have to see.
    Anyways i am able to get into these hardrives now and thats whats important.
    Thank again, Take care
     
  12. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Good work.

    You can mark your own threads "solved" using the button above.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/759428

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice