Solved: External Users to Access Website/Service

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

murphys811

Hello,

I am brand spanking new to networking. I have been a software developer for a few years now but networking and anything server related goes right over my head.

As a side project, I want to create a WCF Service hosted on an extra computer I have at home. I want anyone in the world to be able to access this service. Is this possible if they know my computer's ip address?

I use a wireless router. After looking at other places I may have picked up the idea that I could configure my wireless router to expose a certain port to map an external ip address to an internal ip address. So if they go to http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx/MyService/MyService.svc they would see my web service.

Is this truly possible? Any help on where I could start?

I know how to code the Service, I just don't know how to let the world see it.

Thanks for any help.

This is called port forwarding and can be found in your router documentation. Usually you can look up the user manual on the website of your router's manufacturer.
It allows you to forward connections from the Internet side of your router something like http://1.2.3.4 which is ip address 1.2.3.4 port 80 to an internal ip like 192.168.0.100:80. Of course you need to provide a service that is listening at port 80 to accept and use the connections....like a web server, presumably IIS, hosting WCF.

We can help you more if you provide the make and model of your router.

But, yes, that's the gist of it. Forward whatever ports you need to the server.

murphys811

I have a LinkSys Wireless-G Broadband Router (Model WRT54G).